We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grasmere House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Beautiful hotel with a few modern touches, clean, and friendly attentive staff. Our TV didn't work for the first night and many staff members came to try and fix it, once they got to the route of the problem and couldnt get anyone out for a few days, they moved us to a bigger and much nicer room for the second night - it was the best nights sleep i've had for as long as I can remember, I was very sad to have to leave. Only down side for me was the breakfast - but that's simply because I'm a vegetarian and there wasn't a great amount of choice, but it wasn't a problem, there was toast and cerial so that was fine.
Would deffinately go back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLWXO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalenaug, Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write your review. We are very sorry and apologise that we could not get your televison to work, they are all brand new televisions (installed in April this year) with all the up to date facilities including over 70 freeview channels, however we were happy to move you the following night . You will be pleased to know that the company who supplied the tevelision have apologised and were here on the Monday and replaced a faulty part. We were very pleased to hear that you had the best nights sleep and sorry to hear that you were sad to leave. We wish you had mentioned to our breakfast staff that you would have liked something different for breakfast, as we always do look after vegetarian and vegan guests as well as anyone with special dietary needs (gluten free, dairy free, etc), Further to your comment we will in future endeavour to have available a selection of vegetarian or quorn sausages in addition to our mushrooms toamatoes beans and eggs, we will add to our selection of dried and preserved fruits as well as fresh fruit to accompany our natural and fruit yoghurts. I have made note to place a small sign on the buffet table, to let our guests know that porridge is freshly made to order.
Once again many thanks for your very kind comments, I shall pass them on to our staff. We do appreciate constructive comments like yours as they help us to maintain our normal high standards and improve on them. We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you will definitely be back, and we look forward to looking after you when you do return.
Yours sincerely
Dale Naug
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

464 - 468 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2012

We booked a twin room for 2 nights in May. We checked out after 1 night and into the Inn around the corner which cost less and was much better all around. The room and hallways smelled musty. The linens were over-scented with lavender which caused me distress as I cannot tolerate fragrances. Breakfast was a buffet that was not kept full--my scrambled eggs were cold and I had to scrape the chafing dish to get a serving. The only positive thing we can say is the view of the meadow and Salisbury's spire was lovely.

Room Tip: Before checking in, ask to see your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjpteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalenaug, Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of Grasmere house, we were very sorry to hear that you left us a day early. On checking your room after your departure it was discovered that one of our other resident guests was a heavy smoker and had been smoking outside in the garden but near your room and adjacent to the corridor. The tobacco was of a rather pungent and musty type and permeated through the open windows to your bedroom and corridors in the part of the hotel you were staying in. You will be pleased to know that this was rectified immediately. Incidently we do have a special machine that filters and purifies the air in our bedrooms and this machine is used to refresh all of our rooms on a continuous basis.
Our bed linen is always of a neutral basis so as not to affect any of our guests who may have allergies, however the lavender you detected was from the bedside cabinets which have lavender papers in the drawers, we do have 8 different scented draw liners to give variety throughout the hotel . We are sorry that this offended you as most guests comment on how much they like the aromas.
We were very sorry to hear about your comments on breakfast, we do make every effort to provide a very nice fresh breakfast and would have welcomed your request for freshly cooked scrambled, fried or poached egg at the time. Breakfast can be a very hectic service, and in line with today's fast lifestyle we offer the buffet style, and we cook off small batches at a time, which can mean that our guests may have to wait a few minutes, however we are always very happy to cook breakfast to order. Needless to say we have taken more steps to closely monitor and supervise this part of our service.
Once again many thanks for bringing uor shortcomings to our attention for constructive comments like yours help us monitor our business and improve on our standards to make your stay with us more enjoyable
Yours sincerely
Dale Naug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Good price via lastminute.com. Friendly and very helpful reception staff. Easy to find with good sized carpark. Beautiful setting with great view of cathedral. Room was neat, clean with modern bathroom of a good size. Comfortable bed. Breakfast a real disappointment with a buffet that was poorly stocked, with half the items being unavailable for some time at the mid point of the breakfast service; at no time did it get busy. We booked this after reading comments in Tripadvisor and took encouragement from the hotel's responses to adverse feedback. With attention given to providing a quality breakfast this would be a fantastic little hotel and we'd stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Absolutely picturesque setting looking over the lawns at the bottom of the hotel across the river to the magnificent spire of Salisbury Cathederal, a short walk away. Accommodation and food were great, would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Salisbury. Don't forget to ask Dale about the drinking game lol

Room Tip: We had a lovely room, beautiful four poster bed and magnificent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalenaug, Manager at Grasmere House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your lovely review, we were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We were especially pleased to hear that you enjoyed the "drinking game" which is a version of that old English bar game called "Spoof". We play this game for fun and only for a "round of drinks" We try to teach our overseas guests who are interested in a little bit of English culture. There have been many a night that this game has been enjoyed till the "wee" hours.
Once again many thanks for taking the time and trouble to write your review. We look forward to looking after you again some time in the not too distant future
Yours sincerely
Dale Naug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed one night, hotel was perfectly adequate but nothing out of the ordinary. A lovely view of the Cathedral, but a dismal breakfast - the coffee was Nescafe and when queried, the waiter said yes that's all they do?! And who on earth really still sleeps with sheets and a blanket - what about a duvet? The staff were friendly enough but for the price we paid, I would have hoped for something a little bit more special.
Also, we wanted to find somewhere to eat out in the city, and the phone book in the desk drawer was from 2006. Not enormously helpful really.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honeymoonNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.9 km away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.2 km away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
903 reviews
1.1 km away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
784 reviews
4.7 km away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
1.1 km away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salisbury
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere House Hotel

Address: 70 Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range: $104 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grasmere House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grasmere House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing