We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,025)
Filter reviews
1,025 results
Traveller rating
390
370
155
67
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
390
370
155
67
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river continental breakfast cathedral grounds modern extension city centre salisbury cathedral lovely hotel newer part executive room nespresso machine short walk to the cathedral night break full english ground floor hotel restaurant car park room was large
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,025 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel during a visit to Salisbury and Stonehenge. Hotel is easy walking distance to cathedral, High street and watermarshes. Ample, free parking. Pleasant staff. Has a bar and restaurant and a nice patio on the river with pretty views including a peek at the cathedral spire. Breakfast is continental with option to pay for cooked English breakfast choices. Dinner is pleasant but not exceptional. Rooms are spacious and modern but all require a climb of a flight of stairs. Nice choice for Salisbury

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Swasserman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review and I was pleased to read that youe enjoyed your overall stay. We do have alternative room types without stairs please ask reception on your next booking and the team will be happy to advise you on the best room type for your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

The hotel is charming and the views from The Riverside Restaurant delightful. The restaurant was not busy (from 13.30) and we had the full attention of the Maitre D. A varied menu to choose from and everyone (4) was very pleased with what they ordered, so well done to the Chef. The proximity to the Cathedral and many other attractions of Salisbury puts so much within walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank paxvobiscum2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review, I was delighted that you enjoyed your afternoon with us I will pass your comments to the chef.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

We spent two nights at the Rose & Crown Hotel on Harnham and mostly enjoyed it. Our room was nicely decorated and we were only disturbed by noise on one of the nights. Walls tend to be thin in most hotels. And what’s on the telly until 1 a.m.? When I can’t sleep, I try to read. Less chance of disturbing my neighbour. We quite enjoyed our breakfasts. Hotel staff were friendly enough. On a side note, if you are like me and prefer to have substantial water pressure in your shower/bath, you’re going to love this place. Lotsa water pressure. If you can, try for a room on the second level.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank vaughnthurman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear Guest

I was delighted to read that you had a great stay with us, we do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

Check in was easy and the reception was very friendly. The old part of the building, which was where we stayed, was incredibly charming and rustic.

However, the room which we stayed in (room 1) was in need of maintenance. The decoration and furniture was beginning to look a little tired and shabby in places. The temperature of the shower in the bathroom could not be adjusted meaning you only got scorching hot water, this was the most disappointing aspect of the stay.

Otherwise the stay was pleasant and the hotel is located a very pleasant 5-10 minute walk away from the cathedral and town.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LiamM1575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoseandCrownGM, General Manager at Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review and I note your constructive feedback,please be assured that I will review the maintenance issues and resolve accordingly, I di hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Spent a couple of days in this hotel whilst visiting family in Salisbury. The location is outstanding - on the banks of the River Avon and although it is very close to Salisbury, the surroundings are really rural. The rooms are spacious and the menu very varied. Service was also good.

Room Tip: Recommend the executive double room.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bandittabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews