We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view - just right”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Enjoyed Salisbury very much, the stay at the Rose & Crown, being a period building felt just about right.

Booked an upgraded room which was excellent, sadly there was confusion over the aditional charge for Full English (which I'd asked for within the confirmed quote), just took the edge off of what otherwise was a pleasant short break.We took an all inclusive option, the meal was adequate, not extensive, and well prepared. Service was quick and not rushed, Breakfast is normally Continental (my only grump) and that's fine for many guests. Perhaps ensuring that guests are more aware that there's a choice and making it clear upon booking confirmaton exactly what is included will set aside any misunderstandings.

Room was spacious and well appointed, the view over the River Avon to the Cathedral was enchanting as was the short walk from the Hotel to the Cathedral itself and the City centre. Staff were attentive despite being very busy, we felt they were pleased to see us and we came away feeling valued as guests.

In all we enjoyed it and will return another day

Room Tip: Ask for room in the new part - they overlook the river and have a small garden patio style area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

709 - 713 of 909 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

From the outside, it didn't look like much, but the inside is quite lovely. Our room was quite nice and well-updated even though it was in the oldest part of the building. Breakfast was delicious, but the best part was that it seemed like we were in the country although we were just across the bridge to the cathedral grounds and town. Watching the river Avon over breakfast was a treat.

Staff were consistently friendly and helpful: including Andrew, to the woman at the front desk, the woman at breakfast who brought over a tray of freshly-baked croissants - and even a building engineer who helped with the luggage. And as the least-expensive hotel on our road trip, it compared well with others which made it a terrific deal.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank latte4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Don't miss staying at this lovely hotel with friendly employees willing to assist you with everything. After a dreadful night spent at another inn, we transferred to a twin room at the Rose & Crown. It was the best decision we made. The reception desk person was most helpful. Our room was large and clean with a gorgeous view of the river and meadow, with Salisbury's spire in the distance. Food was delicious, as we ate lunch in the bar area and met with friends and enjoyed a good evening meal in the dining room, overlooking the same view as we had in our room. I had stayed here in 1984 and the place is still as lovely as I remembered. Private, off street parking lot, was a plus.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjpteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Stayed for one night on a business trip, very welcoming reception and friendly bar staff. I had a room at the far end of the hotel, overlooking the river and cathederal, it was nice despite the terrible weather.
Room was on a mezzanine, no lift, so might be worth mentioning if you have a problem with stairs like me, but the manager took my bags to the room, so this was OK
Bed comfortable and room clean. Tea & Coffee tray was nice.
Ate dinner in the Hotel, it was OK, but that is all and quite expensive for the quality. Breakfast was nice, freshly cooked and the service great.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LK_MBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

my husband and i where in Salibury for a Pool competion. We chose this hotel for the parking and the lovely location. Neither let us down. The room was amazing and more than comfortable. The staff were helpful and friendly.It was a wonderful stay and we will return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nigel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.8 km away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
1.0 km away
Best Western Red Lion Hotel
1.7 km away
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
Milford Hall Hotel & Spa
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
1.0 km away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#14 of 16 in Salisbury
575 reviews
0.9 km away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel

Address: Harnham Road, Salisbury SP2 8JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Salisbury
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salisbury
Price Range: $102 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel is an original 13th Century coaching inn located in the City of Salisbury with stunning views across the River Avon & Salisbury Cathedral. There are many original features lovingly retained. The original section of the building still boast its wooden beams through-out and our Oak Bar also enjoys the log fire that is lit in our winter months. A selection of Feature and River View Rooms are available along with our original beamed rooms, please ask our reservation or reception teams for details & availability. Our Pavilion Restaurant where the hotel serves Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner to residents and non-residents offers picturesque views of Salisbury Cathedral and the River Avon combined with ‘Sheep in the meadows’ by constable. Our modern Avon Bar which has kept its original beams and other features is the perfect place for meeting friends. We offer Morning Tea & Coffees, Afternoon Cream Teas & Coffee, Lunches and Dinner and drinks through-out the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Rose And Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose Crown Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing