We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
30
34
15
12
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
34
15
12
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leeds university family room cooked breakfast close to town ensuite guesthouse headingley
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Booked here as a very last minute thing as everywhere else was at least double the price.

As some of the reviews say elsewhere, we considered driving off when we arrived after seeing the area and one particularly dodgy character hanging around, however we knocked the door and went in and the staff could not have been friendlier. The decor is a bit a shabby and dated and it really could do with some work, however the bed and bathroom were very clean and just what we needed, a place to rest our heads for the night.

Breakfast was a bit uninspiring despite very friendly service, put it down to poor quality ingredients.

It's hard to give a bad review for this place due to the welcome atmosphere and service, but the bottom line is this: don't book this for your honeymoon... if you need a no frills place to rest your head for not a lot of money with free parking, good wifi and close to town, this is definitely worth a look.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 194scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Rooms were nice sizes, as were bathrooms. Everything clean and tidy upon arrival. Staff were very polite and friendly and happy to help in any way they could. Bargain price and good value.

Great location, close to town and local amenities and parking available right outside.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank OllieH29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

Great location. Lovely family running the olace, very responsive and friendly. They even got filter coffer on the Sunday after I had asked about whether they did it. The hotel is a nice old building that they keep really clean. They do not allow pets - review from 2014 says they do. There is parking as well.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Overnight stay - 2 single rooms. All facilities - towels, toiletries, free wifi, Tv, hairdryer- full English brekky included.

Rooms very clean, beds comfortable.

Staff very accommodating to late arrival - all work d out great. Very close to the university.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

Staff were nice on arrival however, the room was awful to say the least. Firstly, after making a booking with the Glengarth further up the road I was moved to The Avalon and only notified on the day of my arrival. Stained bed, stained curtains, cracked sink, mysterious marks on the ceiling, wall paper coming off the walls, very noisy. Needless to say I left to find a better hotel.

Shouldn't let anyone stay in those rooms let alone paying guests!!

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank natashah321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews