We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be closed for hygienic reasons”
Review of Avalon Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avalon Guest House
Ranked #12 of 27 Leeds B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

Close to campus, but not suitable to renting out rooms. Not only very dirty, but shower not functioning. Central heating system irregular and unforeseeable. Fire alarm in the morning without explanation.
Bathroom too small and dirt everywhere.
Never ever again

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank AlfredENeumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

24 - 28 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2016

I stayed at the Avalon Guest House on Saturday 5th March 2016 on my 1st ever visit to Leeds. I was awoken from my sleep at 1am on the morning of the 6th by a drunken guest knocking on doors in the Avalon and disturbing other people. I didn't feel safe the rest of the night and got very little sleep! I mentioned my concerns to Nathan the Manager the next morning, but he wasn't too interested in addressing concerns to my satisfaction! I would avoid staying at this guesthouse if the quality of some of the guests is anything to go by. I personally won't be staying here again!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PaulAnthony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2015 via mobile

With a few friends, we visit Leeds. We stayed at Avalon Guest House and the staff running the place were friendly and very hospitable in providing our needs. The room we stayed was a family room and it was like a hotel room. Despite of a certain cuisine smell in the house, it was a pleasant experience. Thumbs up to the wonderful family running the business. Thank you Nathan for the warm welcome we received there. Jacqueline

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank Meekkatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2015 via mobile

Cold room, had to waiting an hour for heating to come on. No towels on arrival, asked twice but didn't get them until the next morning. Nice breakfast and attentive staff in the lounge area. It is a clean hotel.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Nic1star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2015 via mobile

Arrived in the hotel, seemed friendly, got shown into our room which asked for a double bed, the bed probably would of been suitable for 1 person certainly not 2. The room was a complete ice box - because the window wasn't fitted in correctly, there was a big hole on the wall- filled in with a towel & oh my gosh , the ceiling was disgusting , the walls where so thin you could hear everyone and everything.
Defiantly would not recommend & certainly won't be returning

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Danni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#33 of 87 in Leeds
2,230 reviews
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
#1 of 1 in Gildersome
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Guest House

Address: 132 Woodsley Road, Leeds LS2 9LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Leeds
Price Range: $46 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located next to Leeds University and Leeds City Centre with FREE onsite parking and FREE WiFi the Avalon Guest house is perfect for those on a budget. Our rooms are kept to the highest standards of cleanliness with HD Digital Flatscreen televisions, Complimentary Tea & Coffee making facilities & Full English Breakfast included in all bookings, we endeavour to make sure our customers receive value for money and have a pleasant stay. We look forward to welcoming you to our family run B&B. Kindest Regards, The Management. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing