We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Small but packed with history.

I have visited this place many times. First a few times on school trips . Then with my mum. Now... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
John R
,
Durham, United Kingdom
Worthwhile visit

Great for taking the kid's especially when they have re enactments on helpful staff and very... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Susan W
,
Bradford, United Kingdom
Read all 139 reviews
  
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
94
34
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
94
34
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews civil war ghost room old house death mask different periods well worth a visit domesday book interesting rooms middle of a housing estate ghost stories beautiful furniture stained glass dressing up clothes real sense interesting place free entry great history
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

I have visited this place many times. First a few times on school trips . Then with my mum. Now later in life I have taken my partner. Who loves history and found it great.

Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great for taking the kid's especially when they have re enactments on helpful staff and very knowledgeable

Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a fantastic place Bolling Hall is! It has a very interesting history attached to it with numerous, old creaky panelled rooms and stories of ghosts! Scooby Doo certainly wouldn't feel out of place here!!!
The rooms are displayed in a very naturalistic way with plenty to see and read. You really do get a sense of the people who lived here.
The curator of the museum Paul is absolutely wonderful and has bags of enthusiasm and passion for the building.
There's a nice gift shop and coffee machine to boot!!
Well worth a visit!!

Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Always looks closed. Old fashioned and grumpy staff. Poorly labelled displays. Needs a thorough overhaul.

Thank carrotmuseum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Never know this place existed until it popped up in Google. Short walk from Bradford centre and next to a lovely park. The hall was great to walk around, fantastic stained glass, and some nice little bits about the civil war.

1  Thank Korsrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good source of history of historical Bradford families since 1100’s , current building from 1400’s onwards . Lots of artefacts to see including the famous ghost room & original stained glass. The museum is free & staff are friendly

Thank cheryl19591990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I visited here, after visiting another museum in the area. The hall is really well kept and was very interesting. Its a shame that more people don't visit this, and that the garden isn't kept a little better.

Thank mbetowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

One of central bradfords hidden gems, very famous old hall ,that dates back to the 14th century .mentioned in the domesday book ,and home to many ghosts ,allegedly.

1  Thank Chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

This goes back to when I was in primary school and we had a day trip! I was so astonished by it! Had to pay it another visit and cannot believe that its still the same! Feeling that spook this Halloween - then check this place out! Very historical with pictures, portraits, explanations and beautiful Victorian bedrooms!

2  Thank 67shezadm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Good museum, they have little activities where the kids can find things in the rooms which helps to keep them entertained whilst adults read the information. Free to go they just ask for donations. A shame the day we went that a couple of mums let their kids run around as if it was a playground but the man who worked there did tell them.

Thank hairdressingbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews