We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very busy”

Ask Italian - Chichester
Ranked #4 of 273 Restaurants in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 10 - USD 19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The ASK Italian restaurant in Chichester is in a classical redbrick building on East Street at the junction with Little London. We’re in the heart of town, perfect for popping in for a coffee, spot of lunch or dinner with friends before exploring the local shops and boutiques. A look at our menu will reveal a large range of Italian cuisine, from antipasto and seasonal salads, through various pastas and risottos to our famous pizzas. Great recipes, carefully chosen ingredients and talented chefs are what make the difference. You’re just minutes from stunning Chichester Cathedral, which is well worth a visit, as well as the famous Goodwood circuit. We also recommend a wander around Bishop’s Palace Gardens or the Fishborne Roman Palace. For an evening’s post-meal entertainment, both the Festival Theatre and Chichester Cinema – which shows arthouse movies are only a five-minute walk away. The Cineworld cinema is only ten minutes away if you’re in the mood for a blockbuster.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

A busy and IMHO noisy restaurant on a cold Saturday! Lots of moving tables around to accommodate late booked arrivals or walk ins. Waiter arrived quickly to begin ordering service. A couple of our food orders did not turn up. When this was raised, it was taken light heartedly (unhelpful when it’s the children’s food not being provided!). The food still never came! Drinks were slow but we got there in the end. However, the food that was provided was nice. Classic restaurant lunchtime meltdown I guess?! Perhaps another one or two waiting staff wouldn’t go amiss...in fact it would more than likely ease the pressure off the current staff. One large shared washroom facility available on the restaurant floor. Usual washrooms are upstairs (via a steep staircase). Clean facilities. Polite staff. Enjoy!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank WorldTravellerChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABisak, Manager at Ask Italian - Chichester, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion and we are very sorry to hear that you didn't have a good experience.

We can ensure you that in Ask we value all our customers and we would like to make everyone happy by give a great experience when visiting our restaurants.

We can ensure you that this matter as been already discussed in the management meeting and with all the staff in order to identify the problem and to avoid this kind of situations in future.

We kindly ask you to get in touch with us in order to give us some more feedback and mostly to give us the chance to see you again in Ask Italian.

Please accept our sincere apologies.

Ask Italian Management Team
chichester@askitalian.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 182 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

A very enjoyable evening.
Food was very nice and didn't have to wait very long.
The service was very cheerful and friendly. Mike and Arnaldo were friendly and happy to serve and had a sense of humour.
A very enjoyable evening.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank 1Carolch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We were five and a baby and it was lunch time over Bank Holiday. Our table was set and saved as requested, we paid with Tesco Vouchers and had superb service and great food for a chain. All the staff were run off their feet but remained friendly, calm and very hospitable. All the food was good, starts and main and as quick as was possible with so many people, thank you again !

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FoodandHolidays22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We eat here a lot and the food and service is always amazing. Mother’s Day was exceptionally busy as you would expect but the level of service was still just as amazing and Jamie our waiter was so attentive and could not do enough for us or our children. Thanks Jamie you really made the day!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Jogee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We booked a table the same day on Good Friday and were glad they could fit us in. Greeted and seated very professionally by Mike who took drinks order and introduced Jamie our server.
We indulged ourselves with a bit of a spread for starters with the Antipasto Fritto platter AND two starters. All delicious. We followed that with belly pork and a calzone and neither disappointed. I opted for just sorbet as dessert and my companion indulged in a slice of tart, both yummy. The service was superb throughout. Prompt but not rushed. Jamie was good fun and available without being ‘ in your face’. We had a great evening and will be back. Mike and his team are doing a great job.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank SMGG100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ask Italian - Chichester also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Singleton, Chichester
 
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to Ask Italian - Chichester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing