We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely romantic lodgings”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Benjamin Cottage

Double height lounge area and woodburner viewed from mezzanine
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Double height lounge area and woodburner viewed from mezzanine
Arun Street, Arundel Entrance and garden for Benjamin Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
Double height lounge area and woodburner viewed from mezzanine
Arun Street, Arundel
Entrance and garden for Benjamin Cottage
Mirror and selection of books, maps and local guides
Welcome pack
Sofa and basket with selection of games and DVDs
Lounge area
TV/DVD and woodburner
Lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen
Dining area overlooking garden, paddle stairs to mezzanine bedroom
Bedroom detail
King size bed on mezzanine level
Feature flint wall in mezzanine bedroom
Local information
Bathroom
Bathroom - Shower
Private seating area
Pathway to the cottage
Enter a caption for your photo
Entrance to Benjamin Cottage on Arun Street
Arundel Castle from the River Arun (10 minutes walk)
Arundel Castle from Mill Road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Arundel, Arun District, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Deric B
London
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely romantic lodgings”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The place was exactly as described. Kept in pristine condition and packed with lots of thoughtful and loving touches. House was in the center of the town and a few minutes walk from the castle, park with lake, and a river pub. Owners lent us their bikes which really made our break extra special. Wish all owners were as generous,concerned and capable of providing such a perfect experience.

As other guests have noted. The bed is on a mezzanine with access by stairs that resemble a ladder. So may not be suitable for guests with mobility issues, fear of heights or those needing quick access to the toilet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: TV was small
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBX7
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Benjamin Bunny Hop from the Town”
Reviewed 1 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My husband and I stayed in this beautiful hidden Gem of a cottage in Arundel situated in the back garden of Arun House.
The cottage is fitted out to a very high standard and immaculately clean. Michelle, the hostess is very pleasant and leaves a fruit bowl,shortbread, bacon,eggs,bread,milk,yoghurt,butter,jam and juice for your breakfast.
The pretty garden is ideal for sitting out enjoying a glass of wine,totally private from the main house.
Dvd's and a television are in the property and books on local walks.The cottage is very close to the centre of the town and the shops/restaurants a two minute walk away.Parking was easy outside the house but I expect in the summer could be tricky as parking in Arundel is limited.
The only negative is the steps to the mezzanine level where the bedroom is are extremely steep and would not suit elderly guests,otherwise I would thoroughly recommend this property.

I would thoroughly recommend this cottage for a weekend away for a couple.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Lack of A full length mirror in the property,very steep steps to the bedroom.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aZucchini
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Could not have been more perfect”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My partner and I booked a little weekend break at Benjamin Cottage and it was absolutely PERFECT. The cottage was immaculate and Michelle had thought of everything you could possibly want or need for a relaxing weekend break. We totally fell in love with how beautiful and homely the little cottage was and are already planning our next visit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ping660
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Neat, pretty Cottage.”
Reviewed 22 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Michelle the owner was very friendly and the Cottage is very clean and smart..

We were able to just walk into the centre of Arundel and Kim's Book-Shop is a treat.

Even though it is a quite steep walk, the Church of St Nicholas is lovely.

The Weather was also fine so we visited the Wetland Centre which is along Mill Road and also Lewes.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon G
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 18 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We wanted the perfect place to celebrate Valentine`s weekend so we returned to this delightful cottage in the heart of Arundel. Benjamin Cottage, gorgeous as ever, so well presented and beautifully clean. At this time of year the log stove was so cosy and we love the complimentary food and drinks, very thoughtful. Thank you Michelle (and Cecily). x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to wait until the next visit !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing