We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freshly cooked food and good service”

The Horseshoe Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #575 of 2,537 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: Indian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Spice and Curry House with extensive European Menu
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited several times and never had a problem.
Had lunch with a friend.
Food freshly cooked; good service; good portion size; reasonable price.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank David95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

Took over 20 mins to order drinks! Waiter brought the wrong drink over - Pornstar Martini - which had no passion fruit or prosecco shot!! Pints were horrible, flat, watery! We had to ask for the food menu!
Ordered starters and mains, starters were very nice hence the two ratings. No butter on Naans even though we asked for butter to be on them! Finished starters, sitting for an hour waiting for mains, the place was dead. Asked the waiter where the food was he thought we was still finishing starters. Upon clearing the plates he dropped a heavy knife on my leg. Where we had had enough, cancelled the mains and requested the bill! Was given a pointless 10% discount after complaining. This place has really gone down hill!!! Waiter needs training or the sack, he ruined it for us!!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank ajays822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

Let me start off and say that I will not be going there again. Arranged to meet up here with around 10 family friends after not seeing each other for over a year. Sat down in the restaurant area and waited 45 mins before someone came over to ask about drinks and food. They were not busy at all but still had 5 people behind the bar and 1 running around in the restaurant. Waited another hour for food to come out. We ordered 4 mixed grills in total which came out on normal plates not grill skillets. Everything was cold. They didnt bother bringing the fish pakore out because they forgot to make it. When asked, they said 'oh we'll take it off the bill. Not even 'we'll make it now'. They had a dj there and the music was so loud that we couldn't hear the person sitting next to you. Dj should have been in the back room not near the restaurant. People come here to enjoy their meal, not listen to loud music. We told the manager that the food was cold, he wasnt really bothered. We had our starters and left to go to another restaurant. Will be advising family and friends not to bother going there. Worst Indian food.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Ashan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018 via mobile

Came in for quick pint Absolutely fantastic lamb curry.TOTALLY authentic not your usual indian rip off.Highly recommend.enquired and families welcome. Best part my bus stop about 8 feet from door.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank razhussain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Great place for Indian food at Birmingham, ambiance is awesome and the service is decent too. Parking spaces also available

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Nikhil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Horseshoe Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to The Horseshoe Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing