We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
USD 63
USD 56
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 76/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
USD 54
USD 52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 83/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 83
USD 79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 158
USD 151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 95
USD 87
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 69
USD 65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 104
USD 92
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 117/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 129
USD 124
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Travelodge Birmingham Airport(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
USD 56
USD 48
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (2,688)
Filter reviews
2,688 results
Traveller rating
1,537
736
266
97
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,537
736
266
97
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel la tourselfridges car parktouch screenmoor street stationcity roommodern hotelchop housebullring shopping centreexecutive roomwhite company toiletriesbull ringafternoon teamod conswalk in showerexcellent hotelstayed for one nighthotel restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 2,688 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

One of us is a wheelchair user who cannot self-propel. The accessible entrance was faulty throughout our stay. Though there was a bell, the check-in desk was always busy and understaffed so we were left in cold and rain on a couple of occasions and trying to navigate revolving doors on others, with one of us pushing the other and getting a bit jammed. For people self-propelling their own wheelchairs the internal doors may prove difficult; the doors are heavy, outward opening and you need to scan your keycard and open at the same time. With one of us pushing we managed to get our luggage locked in behind us when leaving. We were then offered help but had not been previously. Though staff were on the most part helpful there were invariably long waits to check in and out and technical problems, e.g. the telephone cutting out when ordering room service. It is for this reason, and one receptionist's' reaction to us telling her of these problems, that result in the low rating. We were told that at least the accessible room had a lot of space. This felt like being told we were lucky the room was big enough to turn a wheelchair around in and that this fact should make up for other access problems. It is possibly not the way it was meant but the result was our concern was not heard and my wife felt belittled for voicing it.

The room was quiet, comfortable and generally well equipped for able-bodied and wheelchair user alike. (you may need a walker, bed wedge and/or stick if you generally need help getting out of bed - no grab bars but there are emergency chords). It was darkly furnished and overlooking a building site but no one can do anything about the later and once we'd worked out that the lighting has four levels the room seemed more sensual than somber. The bed was very comfortable and the TV had good sound and picture quality, though the remote was a bit dodgy.

The location was very good, near to the station and Bullring, many good restaurants, museums, galleries, shops and more, a lot of which were accessible. Don't try the Jewellery Quater without careful planning if you're wheeling it - the old cobbles need some work and there are few lowered pavements on the side streets, but the city centre is good.

Once the telephone stopped cutting out room-service was able to advise us on special dietary requirements. There was a problem with a card machine so we then had to be transferred to reception and back to room service but when finally ordered it was prompt, well cooked and beautifully presented.

Another access note: The wet room was generally well done, with just enough space to get a wheelchair between the toilet and glass shower panel and plenty of space once you do get around. The wall button toilet flush was at a level that requires you to stand or swivel on your seat then push down and keep pushing. This will not fit everyone's access needs.

There were aspects of this hotel we really liked, like the illuminated tree in the foyer and the fact staff gave Easter treats to the children ahead of us in the queue. However, various technical malfunctions & under-staffing affected service levels and accessibility and some staff training may be needed on how to deal with complaints regarding access for customers with low mobility and/or disabilities.

(Written by Antonia Hunt)

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie M, Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

HEllo Daniel H,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. Please can you contact Willie Burke our Deputy General Manager wburke@claytonhotels.com to discuss your review further.

With kind regards,

Clayton Hotel Birmingham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The Clayton hotel is very modern and contemporary the room I stayed in had a lovely walk in shower and was decorated to a high standard. My guess is the hotel has been decorated in the last few years.

The receptionists were very helpful pointing us to a cheaper car park by Miss Selfridge for £7 as opposed to £40.

The breakfast was a standard buffet type thing, it was ok and came with comped newspapers.

Overall a pleasant experience and I would certainly go back, Birmingham on the whole isn’t somewhere I would choose to visit again

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank boombashaggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie M, Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hello boombashaggy!

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you largely enjoyed your stay and our decor.

We would love to welcome you back very soon, just dont leave your next visit too long.

With kind regards,

Clayton Hotel Birmingham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Such a beautiful hotel, rooms were absolutely spotless and beds were so comfy with plenty of pillows.
Lights and Aircon all operated by switches on the wall and can be turned on and off from phone on bedside locker which was very handy.
Pity there was no complementary water left in the room., it was £3.50 for a glass bottle of water from the bar.
There was a weird smell in the bathroom initially but it either disappeared or we got used to it very quickly, Big walk in shower was nice shower and new towels everyday.
We didn’t eat in the Hotel at all but if breakfast wasn’t booked in advance it cost £17 for a full English breakfast which was a bit steep in my opinion, but we never ate so can’t comment on whether it was worth it or not. We tried ordering room service one night; just 2 tuna sandwiches and we were informed it would take an hour! AN HOUR FOR TWO SANDWICHES., so we didn’t bother waiting as we were wrecked from travelling all day. (it was also very hard to get in contact with reception/bar/room service, they never answered the phones).
An Easter egg was left for us on Sunday which was very sweet and thoughtful, lovely touch.

We would definitely recommend this hotel and would 100% stay again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rathderry94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie M, Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hello Rathderry94!

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback within your review of your recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences which were caused in relation to the water within your rooms. Please on your next stay with us call and speak with reception and they will ensure two bottles of water are brought to your room.

I also apologise for the delay in relation to your room service, i can only imagine this be down to the room service demand at the time as room service usually takes up to 30 minutes to arrive in your room if ordered after 10.30pm.

I hope that this does not hinder your opinion on our hotel or brand and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us very soon.

With kind regards,

Clayton Hotel Birmingham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Very poor stay, the only reason I am giving this 2 star was because check in was great as we got upgraded from a standard room to an executive room but that was the only good thing that came out of our stay. Later, we call for a plate and cup, however we were told there would be a £5 charge just to bring these up...what kind of 4 star hotel doesn’t have basic room service??? At night we had gone to the bar in the hotel and walked around the lobby only to have the receptionist to repeatedly point at the exit of the hotel and keep saying “the door is that way”, interrupting us when we tried to say we were guests in the hotel. After this we started receiving attitude from him and other staff. Literally only came across one very polite staff member during check in. Anyway I don’t recommend anyone to stay at this hotel, why be a hotel If they’re not trained on customer service or don’t have room service or basic amenities every 4 star hotel has like a mini bar??

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna W, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Jays1495
Could you please send me an email via awadcock@claytonhotels.com with your contact details as I would like to contact you regarding your feedback
Kind regards
Anna Wadcock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Have just spent the Easter weekend in the Clayton hotel,the staffs are very friendly and helpful,the hotel is spotless and the food is great. The location is perfect for exploring the city I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in the heart of this bustling city.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie M, Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hello Greg H!

Thank you so much for your review, and we hope you had a pleasant easter.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon,

With kind regards,

Clayton Hotel Birmingham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews