We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,694)
Filter reviews
2,694 results
Traveller rating
953
933
470
203
135
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
953
933
470
203
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviews harvey nichols mailbox car park mini bar mail box hotel bar good size hot breakfast afternoon tea standard room club room saturday night city centre bars and restaurants new street station lovely room stayed for one night full english
Filter
Updating list...
2,445 - 2,450 of 2,694 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2010

I've always enjoyed staying at the Malmaison hotels around the UK, but this Birmingham hotel felt a bit tired.

The bed in my room had a broken mattress, and the overall feel wasn't up to the old Mal standard. Perhaps if enough people review it then things will be improved.

We had dinner in the restaurant and it was pretty good.

I would still stay here again, but would also consider the Radisson next time.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foiegras99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Room was large, well and tastefully furnished although I would have expected a flat screen tv in a hotel of this style. The bed was quite firm some might even say hard, this suited me fine but may be a bit uncomfortable for some people. The bathroom was bigger than average in fact I have stayed in hotel rooms smaller than the bathroom. The location is excellent as was the service at check in. I only used the restaurant for breakfast but although the service was a tad slow it was excellent as was the quality of the food.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macca1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

This hotel is just about passable, but not value for money in my opinion. Its starting to look very tired in places. There were some very suspicious Staines on the furniture on the room which was otherwise quite nice. The lifts were really dirty. I recommend the management invest in some E Cloths which would clean the stainless steel very quickly. Clearly they don't bother to read any of these reviews though because I thought the whole place needed a good scrub, especially the bath in our room which looked like something from a student flat. Not that impressed at the price. Would rather spend £45 at Etap...

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

This hotel was great the Mal supplement on Sunday is fantastic value for money. The staff in the Brassierie can even tell you what the soup of the day is without you having to ask and them go and find out. They are knowledgeable about the menu and wine list and it seems like they enjoy their work. It was a pleasure to eat their.
Rooms large well equipped and very clean. All in all a good place to stay.
Just over the road Cafe Blend good place for a coffee or breakfast if you don't want the full works

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Enjoyed another stay at Malmaison Birmingham.
Although the rooms are starting to look a little warn in places (carpets in particular) the rooms are still a great size and efficiently heated.
Breakfast £11.95 for continental and £13.95 for full english ... choose from a selection including the full mal breakfast, eggs benedict and toast and soldiers. The mal breakfast basket is available as a continental room service breakfast.
Limited evening menu for the dine offers provided by the hotel, but adequate choice - if a little limited as a vegetarian.
Service in the restaurant is a little frantic and a bit hit and miss ... not lead by a maitre 'd but the staff worked hard and were polite.
The bar area has a real buzz both lunch time and evening with a large number of non residents coming in to the hotel.
Car park directly behind the hotel £18 per 24 hours ... but be warned if you need your car during your stay your charge starts again when you come back to the car park.
Fantastically placed for evenings out, shopping and theatre visits.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews