We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,670)
Filter reviews
2,670 results
Traveller rating
943
925
467
202
133
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
943
925
467
202
133
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharvey nicholsmailbox car parkmini barmail boxhotel bargood sizehot breakfaststandard roomclub roomsaturday nightcity centrebars and restaurantsnew street stationlovely roomstayed for one nightfull englishtea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
2,591 - 2,596 of 2,670 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2007

We have just returned from a fantastic weekend getaway at the Malmaison in Birmingham. The room was amazing, so spacious with a chill out area in a relaxed modern decor. The room included speakers for your iPod, large tv, dvd player and plenty of extras.

As it had been quite a last minute thing...we struggled for somewhere to eat but they rang around all of the decent restaurants in the area and got us somewhere fantastic. The second night we ate at their brasserie which was reasonable and the food was great (and we're quite fussy!)

Now planning a stay in the one at Liverpool!!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Batfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2007

Great hotel. Very easy to access from the train station / airport. lots of good shops, bars and restaurants within walking distance.
Professional, friendly and helpful staff - very efficient. Lovely room, fab breakfast. Can't fault it!
Have booked already to stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank avisitorfromireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2007

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Malmaison while attending the Autosport show at the NEC. We have previously stayed on the outskirts of town closer to the NEC -- this was a much nicer alternative. The hotel is situated only a few minutes on foot from the train station, which we took to get to the NEC. Why stay at a hotel in the middle of nowhere (near the NEC), when you can stay at a thoroughly modern, comfortable hotel downtown with easy train access to the NEC?

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moohead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2007

Got a really good deal direct with the Malmaison booking line for D&BB for two people for £139 - excellent value at the weekend.
Room was lovely as ever - our problem this time (there is ALWAYS a minor problem at this hotel when we stay!) was the incredibly noisy staff at 6.30am outside our room, presumably getting supplies out of a cupboard - please be quieter next time, you woke us up!!
Breakfast was superb, evening meal excellent. Overall a lovely 24 hours in Birmingham

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nogginthenog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2007

Malmaison clearly spends a good deal on branding, and the sense that you were staying the night inside an advert got irksome after a while (examples: slogans like 'Live Life, Love Life, Love Mal' liberally applied to brochures, flyers, breakfast menus etc; or the chummy way of reminding you to pay your minibar bill - 'well it would be rude not to..!') More serious, however, was the fact that there was no way of opening a window in the room. The air conditioning was set at a minimum of 18C - which we were told was a health and safety regulation - so we had the choice of a sleepless night in an overheated room or a sleepless night in an airless room. We had intended this stay to be a bit of luxury and a treat after Christmas, but left the hotel more exhausted than when we arrived.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wanderingurbanite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews