We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-rated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Birmingham
Ranked #21 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2007

Stayed here on my own for work. Very stylish, modern and comfortable but the service wasn't up to the same standard. I was twice ignored during meal-times and had to get up and find a waiter/ waitress which was a shame as the food was generally of a high standard.

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank SCOOTER71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,322 - 2,326 of 2,399 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2007

We have just returned from a fantastic weekend getaway at the Malmaison in Birmingham. The room was amazing, so spacious with a chill out area in a relaxed modern decor. The room included speakers for your iPod, large tv, dvd player and plenty of extras.

As it had been quite a last minute thing...we struggled for somewhere to eat but they rang around all of the decent restaurants in the area and got us somewhere fantastic. The second night we ate at their brasserie which was reasonable and the food was great (and we're quite fussy!)

Now planning a stay in the one at Liverpool!!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Batfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2007

Great hotel. Very easy to access from the train station / airport. lots of good shops, bars and restaurants within walking distance.
Professional, friendly and helpful staff - very efficient. Lovely room, fab breakfast. Can't fault it!
Have booked already to stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank a visitor from ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2007

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Malmaison while attending the Autosport show at the NEC. We have previously stayed on the outskirts of town closer to the NEC -- this was a much nicer alternative. The hotel is situated only a few minutes on foot from the train station, which we took to get to the NEC. Why stay at a hotel in the middle of nowhere (near the NEC), when you can stay at a thoroughly modern, comfortable hotel downtown with easy train access to the NEC?

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moohead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2007

Got a really good deal direct with the Malmaison booking line for D&BB for two people for £139 - excellent value at the weekend.
Room was lovely as ever - our problem this time (there is ALWAYS a minor problem at this hotel when we stay!) was the incredibly noisy staff at 6.30am outside our room, presumably getting supplies out of a cupboard - please be quieter next time, you woke us up!!
Breakfast was superb, evening meal excellent. Overall a lovely 24 hours in Birmingham

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nogginthenog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
982 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,239 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#30 of 118 in Birmingham
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,538 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Birmingham

Address: The Mailbox 1 Wharfside Street, Birmingham B1 1RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $134 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Malmaison Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing