We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the NIA”
Review of Eaton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eaton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for the NIA”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Stayed at the Eaton on Friday with a friend to see a show at the NIA, really nice hotel, close to the NIA (£7 taxi) and the receptionist even booked the cab for us.

Had a twin room and was amazed to find two double beds. Breakfast was really good and the hotel is a fair price for the excellent quality. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    178
    43
    16
    8
See reviews for
105
212
37
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
warks
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The Eaton is a fantastic place to stay, usually stay in the centre but this so much better! a quick taxi into town to the theatre and then back to enjoy the peace and quiet this hotel offers. Breakfast was lovely and so much choice! Rooms clean and bed really comfortable. All the Staff were helpful and friendly. Will definately be going back soon! want to try the Restaurant next.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heather d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

It was my son's Graduation on Friday, 20th April and the venue was Birmingham University. There was six of us in the party and my husband looked on line for a suitable hotel, near the Uni. He chose the Eaton Hotel, in the main, because of the reasonable rate (£60.00 per night for single occupancy and £70.00 per night for two adults sharing, inclusive of breakfast) and the reviews on Trip Advisor.

To say we were not disappointed is an understatement. The hotel was lovely. Al the rooms were perfect (all the same size) very nicely furnished and the evening meal and breakfast were excellent. The staff were very attentive and because it is a family run hotel, you were genuinely looked after. I can't praise it enough and if ever I am in Birmingham again, I will definitely stay or at the very least have lunch or an evening meal in the beautiful dining area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebLeeBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

the eaton is one of the few hotels with restaurants in the traditional sense even though it has a modern facade

the restaurant rarely dissapoints

food service etc is 1st class

Room Tip: no need to worry about this
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My experience of the Eaton Hotel goes back to the 1980's, when I used to go to the Christmas party nights with a group of friends for several years. Since that time we have enjoyed many family occasions, my daughter's 21st birthday ( They are 40 next year!), granddaughter's first Communion, last year a reunion for the staff I used to work with, Christmas day meal this year for the whole family, the list goes on. Each and every time the attention to detail has been second to none, Maria, a director greets you like an old friend, along with David, the restaurant manager. There have been extensive renovations over the last few years, recently in the restaurant, but the quality of the food, and service from the staff, never alters. The rooms are well appointed, as we have, on occasion, stayed over. Highly recommend this family owned hotel, we shall be there again in May for my eldest granddaughter's Confirmation, and look forward to the same excellent welcome and service.

Room Tip: All the rooms have been updated, if you require a family room, and the occasion is a wedding, book w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brummiejean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,355 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton Hotel

Property: Eaton Hotel
Address: 279 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price range (per night): $129 - $161
Hotel Class:3 star — Eaton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eaton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaton Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing