We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good hotel but second mortgage needed for drinks” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #68 of 141 Hotels in Birmingham
Barrow-in-Furness
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good hotel but second mortgage needed for drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Good clean rooms. Comfortable bed. Plenty of staff. Meals OK.

The big downside is the cost of drinks at the bar. £4.60 for a pint of bitter and £9.00 - yes nine pounds - for a glass of wine!

You are a captive audience so they can charge what they like!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barrowboy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Barrowboy

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent visit to the hotel.

I was very pleased to see that you had found your room to be comfortable and do hope that we may welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,155
    1,361
    1,081
    607
    436
See reviews for
449
951
307
2,194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (908)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stayed here while attending an exhibition at the NEC March 2012
The hotel is very convenient and although I read reviews that some rooms needed upgrading, mine was absolutely fine.
I was able to park my car in the hotel car park and leave it for 4 days as you can walk accross to the NEC, which I found very convenient. However beware the cost is £15 per day.
We ate in the buffet restaurant each night. The food was perfectly acceptable although nothing to write home about. Breakfast was good but it could get very busy at peak times and you might have to queue.
If I had one complaint it was the bar prices. There is no point driving into the city when you are working late in such a location and the hotel must know this. So as you might expect, a business hotel of this type can be expensive but I got stung for a large bottle of water (Pelegrino 70cl) at a whopping (wait for it) £7.40p ! ! ! Yes that's not a misprint, I did say water and yes, I did say £7.40p - sorry but that's taking the p*** big time, and then some.
That said, on balance, a very useful location and not a bad hotel, especially if you are attending something at the NEC, just watch out you don't trebble your room rate by getting ripped off in the bar

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Woody Fleet

Thank you for your review.

I was pleased to read that you had found our location ideal for easy access to the NEC. I was surprised to see you had paid full price for parking, as our residents typically receive a discount for parking. Perhaps if you contact me I will arrange for a refund of the excess charge you have paid.

The hotel's prices are constantly monitored to ensure we remain competitive and I can assure you that the prices charged throughout the hotel are in line with those charged at other 4 star establishments throughout the country.

I hope we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stayed here with my partner as she was attending a 2 day conference. so i had the days to myself and time to enjoy the hotels facilities.
First impressions of the hotel were decent. a typical extra large airport style hotel, with not too much around the area. They do have a small newsagent in the hotel which is very usefull!

Througout the duration of our stay the reception was always busy, however our checkin went smoothly without any waiting around.
I believe our room was an executive room and it was very nice. spacious and clean, with all the necessary amenities and a very comfortable bed!
on the first evening we opted to go for the buffet restaurant, which was fairly good. there was alot of variety and everything seemed relatively fresh, however the service left alot to be desired. slow and unprofessional. at one point i had to get up ask a waiter if i could get a glass of water. this was after trying to get their attention for more than 10 minutes. not one member of staff even looked towards our direction, and the manager (the only gentleman in a suit) was too busy setting up tables at the back of the restaurant, which i presume were for breakfast the following day.
The second day i decided to use the health and fitness centre, which was very nice. clean, clinical and had all the necessery equipment. It was enjoyable and the staff friendly.
After a swim i was extremely hungry and had lunch in the bar, i went for one of the burgers (which they specialise in) i must say the burger was delicious and i ended up having the exact same lunch the following day. unfortunately my lunch was let down yet again by the poor non attentive service. One evening we had dinner in the bar. Fair enough the bar was very busy, but that was no excuse for the terrible service i recieved. it took approximately 15minutes for the staff to notice we were sitting there, and another 10 to order our drinks (after asking), after finally ordering our food, 35minutes later it still hadnt arrived. This was fustrating as my partner had work to do in our room, so this was delayed. after speaking to a manager he agreed to bring the food to our room for no extra cost as it had taken so long to arrive. a fair solution but initially we wanted to eat in the bar or we would have ordered room service. Other than the service in the food outlets, the stay was good. a real shame as the hotel is nice.
Carparking is decently priced and the staff friendly. Overall a decent stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Instinct_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Senior Reviewer

Thank you for your review following your stay with us.

I was pleased to see that you had generally enjoyed your time with us and that you had the hotel's facilities and restaurants to be as you would espect. I was however disappointed to see you had experienced slow service. Please rest assured your comments will be shared with the relevant management with a view to improving levels of service in these areas.

We hope we may have the opportunity of welcoming you both back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I usually find Hilton hotels quite good, and this one was no exception.

At the NEC Birmingham for a couple nights, the hotel were able to accomodate my co-worker and I both with early check-ins the morning of our arrival around 11am---always a nice plus.

I loved the fact that there was a balcony door which easily opened to allow fresh air in. While only March, there was an exceptional warm spell, and I was able to sleep with the window open.

There is a bit of a woods around the Hilton Metropole, which makes it feel more than just a tradeshow hotel. Food at the lobby bar was good, but we did head out for dinner the one night we were there, as the hotel restaurants did seem a bit "borning".

Overall, staff and service levels were excellent. A shuttle runs to and from Birmingham Intl, so you don't have to drag your bags along. It's a short walk to the NEC in nice weather, but it may seem a tad long in rain or less pleasant weather.

I would not hesitate to stay at this locations again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TedNes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear TedNes

Thank you for such a positive review.

I was delighted that we were able to offer an early check-in and that you found everything to your satisfaction.

I was very pleased that you found the levels of service provided by our staff to be excellent and thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Despite booking my room many months early due to the poular demand (located near NEC), this time I ended in the B-lobby wing which appear to be needing quite the renovation. As the hotel was full I was not able to move or upgrade and so was stuck in a room "benefitting" from noise from the hotel machine-park of air circulation equipment and compressors, possibly the noise was louder due to the fact that the french balcon door wouldn't close tight and so the room was very drafty.

First morning I discovered that my inroom iron wasn't working, so made call to repair or replace during the day while I was away busy at one of the many tradeshows in NEC... only to find out again next morning that this had been forgotten, and so lost valuable time placing another call with housekeeping and then waiting for them to bring replacement.

I have stayed at this hotel before for business, but after this disappointment will not do so again. A decent room providing a good nights sleep must be the minimum to expect - instead I had restless nights due to noise and draft - and unattentive service to match.

I can tell that the hotel is busy and succssfull with full bookings and numerous conferences and events going on - but please focus also on the basics? @sorenpowholse

Room Tip: Avoid B-lobby rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sorenpowholse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.7 km away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
0.3 km away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#4 of 141 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
1.1 km away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#19 of 141 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Property: Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price range (per night): $158 - $432
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hilton EMEA, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing