We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complacient due to NEC location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #71 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Complacient due to NEC location”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Despite booking my room many months early due to the poular demand (located near NEC), this time I ended in the B-lobby wing which appear to be needing quite the renovation. As the hotel was full I was not able to move or upgrade and so was stuck in a room "benefitting" from noise from the hotel machine-park of air circulation equipment and compressors, possibly the noise was louder due to the fact that the french balcon door wouldn't close tight and so the room was very drafty.

First morning I discovered that my inroom iron wasn't working, so made call to repair or replace during the day while I was away busy at one of the many tradeshows in NEC... only to find out again next morning that this had been forgotten, and so lost valuable time placing another call with housekeeping and then waiting for them to bring replacement.

I have stayed at this hotel before for business, but after this disappointment will not do so again. A decent room providing a good nights sleep must be the minimum to expect - instead I had restless nights due to noise and draft - and unattentive service to match.

I can tell that the hotel is busy and succssfull with full bookings and numerous conferences and events going on - but please focus also on the basics? @sorenpowholse

Room Tip: Avoid B-lobby rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sorenpowholse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,287
    1,491
    1,200
    680
    478
See reviews for
513
1,060
329
2,433
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (965)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
143 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Ideally located for business trip (on major routes in and around Birmingham) Accommodation of a very good standard for business travel with good service and breakfast. A large hotel but with very little associated noise from residents or outside, on the whole a very good stay.

Room Tip: I had a room at the front of the hotel above the reception on the 4th floor, lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerandAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This was my third stay at this hotel and its location only a few minutes walk to the NEC is perfect. My husband and I had a 3 night stay and albeit we ammended our booking at short notice to include a Saturday night the hotel staff were most accomodating and insured we did not have to change rooms as the hotel was full. The room was very clean and the housekeeping staff most polite. Front of house greeted us with a smile and as well as the polite manner were most professional in their introduction to the hotel and its services. We ate at the restaurants and yet again the staff were most helpful and happy to serve us making our visit enjoyable. Room service was quick and the food was excellent. We used the pool and I had a treatment in the relaxing spa. I would like to see hot chocolate sachets in the room facilities of tea and coffee making and when I asked at reception they arranged a compliementry one as I did not drink tea or coffee. This small touch was most appricated and added to the special way all of the staff take pride in their jobs. Well done on such a high standard at such a busy hotel needless to say we will return. Thank you Hilton.

Room Tip: Floor 5 for a quiet nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolAH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2012

All in all a very pleasant experience. some of our party were disappointed with the bedrooms as in the booked double for single occupancy and were allocated single.

We were happy with our particular room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We used the carpark to wine and dine the restaurant buffet. We were told by the restaurant manager to take our carpark ticket to the Reception in order for the ticket to get validated and the receptionist refused to validate our ticket saying that we still have to pay the carpark fee even when we paid a lot of money for our meals and drinks. So we put the ticket in to the machine and to our horror we got charge for £10 for a maximum stay of 2 hours. I call it rip off or daylight robbery....

We will never dine their again unless if we stay in the hotel itself but won't be for a very long time.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jean w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.3 km away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,514 reviews
0.7 km away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
1.1 km away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
1,772 reviews
0.9 km away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Property: Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price range (per night): $105 - $434
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Priceline, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing