We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Very interesting visit

It was a very pleasant surprise to find out how much we enjoyed our visit to Soho House. The staff... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
pipnicolson
,
Birmingham, UK
via mobile
perfect for kids

we went here with the kids during the holidays.the kids had a very good day with all the different... read more

Reviewed 5 October 2018
bridgethelen55
,
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Read all 330 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Birmingham
from USD 72.10
More Info
from USD 21.00
More Info
from USD 20.91
More Info
from USD 13.04
More Info
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveller rating
235
76
13
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
76
13
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lunar society matthew boulton industrial revolution guided tour visit soho brilliant guide group visit central heating assay office his enthusiasm lovely house well worth the effort fascinating place local history interesting visit excellent tour city centre
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 325 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It was a very pleasant surprise to find out how much we enjoyed our visit to Soho House. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the volunteers were very knowledgeable and engaging when talking about the history and artefacts of the house. We visited on Halloween and, for two days only, most of the house had been altered into a Halloween theme; all the rooms were blacked out and searched round the house by torchlight for clues to work out the ‘password’ so we would be ‘allowed to leave’! So much effort had clearly gone into dressing the house up for this event. It had enough stuff added to the rooms (spider’s webs, bats etc) to make it creepy without being too frightening for the children and also things from horror films as references to keep the adults entertained! We had a great morning. Thank you. We will definitely be going back to view the house in daylight!

Thank pipnicolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CameronA429, Senior Museum Supervisor at Soho House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

With it being the first year in trying this event, your feedback between crating a spooky atmosphere for the younger audience and horror film references for adults was exactly what I we were aiming for! We're glad you enjoyed your visit to Soho House this Halloween.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

we went here with the kids during the holidays.the kids had a very good day with all the different things they had to do.the grounds are lovely to walk around ,they also have a little coffee shop,great day out.will go again

1  Thank bridgethelen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CameronA429, Senior Museum Supervisor at Soho House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We're glad you enjoyed your visit to Soho House with your children. Check out our events page for future events at Soho House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

Soho House is fascinating., not only from what you see in the house, but its neighborhood is so different fom what it was in its heyday. It was the meeting place of the Lunar Society, men of the 18th century who caused modern Britain to exist. It is a Georgian house where you can see the table around which these amazing men used to meet on nights of the full moon.
There is so much vital information which is well presented by written panels and photographs that you will not find elsewhere.
It is near the site of the original Soho "factory" of Boulton & Watt - after your visit, go & at at the Black Eagle for authentic atmosphere & good food

1  Thank sinclairselections
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CameronA429, Senior Msueum Supervisor at Soho House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Thank you for your kind words. The house acted as an important meeting place for some very forward thinkers during key changes to society and beliefs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

The approach to Soho House doesnt bode well as it is surrounded by Victorian and later buildings which can’t possibly give a sense of what the house originally looked out over 200 years ago. There is no garden to speak of but the real interest is the history of Matthew Boulton and the inside of the house. Visits are by guided tours and I was on Mike’s, who was engaging and knowledgeable. Depending on the size of the group some of the rooms are a squeeze, especially when other people are slow or don’t move into the room so that everyone can have a look. Tours take about 1.5 hours. Glad I came, really interesting part of Brum and world history.

Thank jothewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

The tour of this lovely house was wonderful, our guide was incredibly knowledgeable and brought the industrial revolution to life through Matthew Boulton and his colleagues. Excellent tour. The gardens,however, were disappointing, they looked unloved. They don't do food here just cakes and drinks so take your own if you visit over the .lunch period. Recommended for a half day visit but check opening times.

Thank Linandmike2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

My guide was Mike and he was fantastic. There is lot to see and take in, but really not suitable from small children. I went for the educational experience and my interest in the industrial revolution and was well rewarded.

The tour was over and hour and I saw everything.

Remember, it just where Boulton lived, not his factory (now destroyed), although samples of what he made are on display.

I would highly recommend this - do check carefully the opening times.

Free parking on site.

Two grumbles - hence the photos.

A dilapidated Inter-Race Peace garden is in sore need of attention.

And why does the glass entrance door need 3 signs about Guide Dogs, two signs about Not Smoking, 2 signs about Trip Advisor, and two meaningless signs about organisations the museum belongs to. Please minimalise signage to what is absolutely necessary.

Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

We were so impressed with Soho House this morning - buzzing with activity, totally unruffled staff, lovely tray of cafetiere coffee which we could take into the garden...This was followed by a truly fascinating tour of the house with brilliant guide, Jack, who kept us all, including the children, fully immersed in the stories of its occupants and their friends. We gained a real understanding of how these great scientific and entrepreneurial Georgians really put Birmingham on the map. Matthew Boulton's Soho manufactory was 'the silicon valley' of its day.An easy bus ride from the city centre.

Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

What a wonderful place! Essential if you want to learn about British history.
The cradle of the industrial revolution, but at the same time a lovely family home that gives you a real sense of life in the 18th century.
Well worth the short taxi ride from Birmingham city centre.
The guided tour is brilliant!

1  Thank CandidaDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron A, Senior Museum Supervisor at Soho House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Being one of, if not the first factories in the world makes Soho critical to the industrial revolution! We're glad you had a great tie at Soho House on your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

Dr Johnson's Reading Circle from London adored our tour of Soho House. Thank you to Cameron for organising our welcome and to the wonderful Jack for such a full and interesting guided tour. Soho House is central to understanding the birth of the industrial revolution.

1  Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron A, Senior Museum Supervisor at Soho House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

It was a pleasure to host your group at Soho House and we hope you took a lot away from your visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018

The house was part of Matthew Boulton’s estate from the Georgian period. There are guided tours at set times. The tour took about 1.5 hours and the guide was very knowledgeable, explaining the links between the context of the day, Boulton’s life and achievements and culture. Lots of authentic furniture and furnishings, and a good insight into the political and social climate of Boulton’s life span.
Only open on certain days so check before you go. Situated on a private road about 20 min drive from the centre of Birmingham.

2  Thank djt459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron A, senior Museum Supervisor at Soho House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

We're glad you took a lot from the guided tour, and that you enjoyed your visit to Soho House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews