We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half term day trip ”

National Sea Life Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 21.14*
and up
SEA LIFE Birmingham Admission Ticket
Ranked #50 of 303 things to do in Birmingham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dive and be wowed by the many strange, beautiful and fascinating creatures of the deep as you journey through the amazing underwater world of The National SEA LIFE Centre Brimingham. Prepare for astonishing close views of everything from humble starfish to tropical sharks. To get any closer you'll have to get wet!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

2 adults and a 7 and 2 yr old visited earlier today and had a lovely day visiting and seeing the amazing sea animals they had.

Recommend this for adults and children and we parked locally in a multi storey carpark which didn't cost much.

Thank Zipp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLC_Birmingham, Guest Relations Manager at National Sea Life Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi Zipp S,

It is good to hear that everybody in the family enjoy their visit to see us!

We do hope that you will come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"underwater tunnel"
in 71 reviews
"penguin enclosure"
in 49 reviews
"star fish"
in 41 reviews
"sealife centres"
in 40 reviews
"glass tunnel"
in 36 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 88 reviews
"gift shop"
in 145 reviews
"school holidays"
in 77 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 111 reviews
"half term"
in 62 reviews
"booked online"
in 42 reviews
"rainy day"
in 54 reviews
"cinema experience"
in 49 reviews
"brindley place"
in 53 reviews
"car park"
in 58 reviews
"sharks"
in 313 reviews
"aquarium"
in 200 reviews
Filter

148 - 152 of 3,397 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Lovely little place, but we were in and out in less than an hour. Had it have been quieter we may have spent longer in there looking, but you feel obliged to move on when people are waiting behind. Despite booking a time slot, it was still incredibly busy. But nice none the less. Not sure if the price reflects the exhibition, possibly a little over priced but still nice

Thank Kay6069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLC_Birmingham, Guest Relations Manager at National Sea Life Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi Kay6069,

I'm glad you liked the centre itself! We do recommend that guests make use of our free re-entry throughout the day, especially during a peak and holiday periods. Booking online will always give you the best savings and this is always recommended over walk in prices.

Thank you for your feedback and we do hope to see you sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We have been to the sealife centre in Weymouth and it's always a great day out there.
We thought we would try the Birmingham one. We were shocked at how small it is and the prices they charge are similar to Weymouth for less than half the size.
We had a 5 and 7 year old and they enjoyed looking at all the different species and especially enjoyed the glass tunnel with the glass floor.
We didn't rush around and stopped to look at everything and even attended the 4D cinema experience. We were all done in an hour and half.
It's ok to fill a short amount of time but definetly not worth the 2 hour drive from Oxfordshire and £10 entrance price (2 for one voucher) normally £20!
Local car park (south Arena) was £9 for 3 hours parking!
Brrindley place has a few restraunts for lunch we went to Slug and lettuce and that was good!

Thank emmacox300793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLC_Birmingham, Guest Relations Manager at National Sea Life Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi emmacox300793,

We do try and maximise the space we use so that everybody gets to see a wide variety of different creatures and I am glad that both your 5 and 7 year old enjoyed the visit!

The recommended visit time is between 1 1/2 - 2 hours and we do suggest that guests take advantage of free all day re-entry so that you can visit again later on! Re-entry is really good for going to see one of our many talks which take place throughout the day.

I am sorry the parking was not value for money, unfortunately we do not manage these areas.

I am glad you enjoyed Brindley place!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

As fun as it was to see a few fish and penguins, I feel that at £20 per person (2 children and 1 adult) isn't really not worth the money. Also you have to print the voucher off to get the 241 offer, we are living in a world of apps and contactless you would think you could just be able to scan the offer by now.
Going in term time would of saved us £30.
I definitely won't be visiting here again.

1  Thank misspoet85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLC_Birmingham, Guest Relations Manager at National Sea Life Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi misspoet85,

I am sorry to hear that you feel that you do not want to come and visit again!

We do recommend that all guests should pre-book in advance via our website to make the best savings! However I will pass on your feedback about your two for one voucher!

If you would like to discuss the issue further please do not hesitate to contact us at slcbirmingham@merlinentertainments.biz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Bought online in advance as advised - still had to queue outside for 25 minutes in the pouring rain. Terrible start. Inside things aren’t much better - cramped and crowded. The only bit that’s really any good is the tunnel at the end, and we did the behind the scenes tour which was good. Overall very expensive, poor value for money and a decidedly average day out. An hour in Brum Museum and Art Gallery, which is free, was much better!

Thank Bunty15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLC_Birmingham, Guest Relations Manager at National Sea Life Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi Bunty15,

During peak and holiday periods we do see an increase in visitor numbers and we can appreciate that wait times for entry maybe a little longer. We do aim to admit guests as quickly as possible for their time slot as stated on their tickets. Booking online further in advance increases how much is saved on the ticket price overall. During these periods we do encourage guests to make use of the free re-entry throughout the day.

I am glad you enjoyed our 360 degree tunnel and Behind the Scenes tour.

If you would like to discuss any of the issues further, please feel free to contact us at slcbirmingham@merlinentertainments.biz.

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Sea Life Centre also viewed

 

Been to National Sea Life Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing