We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Birmingham
from USD 16.00
More Info
from USD 20.50
More Info
from USD 16.00
More Info
from USD 19.20
More Info
Reviews (3,631)
Filter reviews
3,631 results
Traveller rating
1,186
1,240
760
293
152
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,186
1,240
760
293
152
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underwater tunnel penguin enclosure star fish sealife centres glass tunnel behind the scenes gift shop school holidays couple of hours half term rainy day soft play cinema experience brindley place book in advance sharks aquarium
Filter
Updating list...
383 - 388 of 3,631 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Lovely little place, but we were in and out in less than an hour. Had it have been quieter we may have spent longer in there looking, but you feel obliged to move on when people are waiting behind. Despite booking a time slot, it was still incredibly busy. But nice none the less. Not sure if the price reflects the exhibition, possibly a little over priced but still nice

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Kay6069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLC_Birmingham, Guest Relations Manager at National Sea Life Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi Kay6069,

I'm glad you liked the centre itself! We do recommend that guests make use of our free re-entry throughout the day, especially during a peak and holiday periods. Booking online will always give you the best savings and this is always recommended over walk in prices.

Thank you for your feedback and we do hope to see you sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We have been to the sealife centre in Weymouth and it's always a great day out there.
We thought we would try the Birmingham one. We were shocked at how small it is and the prices they charge are similar to Weymouth for less than half the size.
We had a 5 and 7 year old and they enjoyed looking at all the different species and especially enjoyed the glass tunnel with the glass floor.
We didn't rush around and stopped to look at everything and even attended the 4D cinema experience. We were all done in an hour and half.
It's ok to fill a short amount of time but definetly not worth the 2 hour drive from Oxfordshire and £10 entrance price (2 for one voucher) normally £20!
Local car park (south Arena) was £9 for 3 hours parking!
Brrindley place has a few restraunts for lunch we went to Slug and lettuce and that was good!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Emmacox993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLC_Birmingham, Guest Relations Manager at National Sea Life Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi emmacox300793,

We do try and maximise the space we use so that everybody gets to see a wide variety of different creatures and I am glad that both your 5 and 7 year old enjoyed the visit!

The recommended visit time is between 1 1/2 - 2 hours and we do suggest that guests take advantage of free all day re-entry so that you can visit again later on! Re-entry is really good for going to see one of our many talks which take place throughout the day.

I am sorry the parking was not value for money, unfortunately we do not manage these areas.

I am glad you enjoyed Brindley place!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

As fun as it was to see a few fish and penguins, I feel that at £20 per person (2 children and 1 adult) isn't really not worth the money. Also you have to print the voucher off to get the 241 offer, we are living in a world of apps and contactless you would think you could just be able to scan the offer by now.
Going in term time would of saved us £30.
I definitely won't be visiting here again.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank misspoet85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLC_Birmingham, Guest Relations Manager at National Sea Life Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi misspoet85,

I am sorry to hear that you feel that you do not want to come and visit again!

We do recommend that all guests should pre-book in advance via our website to make the best savings! However I will pass on your feedback about your two for one voucher!

If you would like to discuss the issue further please do not hesitate to contact us at slcbirmingham@merlinentertainments.biz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Bought online in advance as advised - still had to queue outside for 25 minutes in the pouring rain. Terrible start. Inside things aren’t much better - cramped and crowded. The only bit that’s really any good is the tunnel at the end, and we did the behind the scenes tour which was good. Overall very expensive, poor value for money and a decidedly average day out. An hour in Brum Museum and Art Gallery, which is free, was much better!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Bunty15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLC_Birmingham, Guest Relations Manager at National Sea Life Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi Bunty15,

During peak and holiday periods we do see an increase in visitor numbers and we can appreciate that wait times for entry maybe a little longer. We do aim to admit guests as quickly as possible for their time slot as stated on their tickets. Booking online further in advance increases how much is saved on the ticket price overall. During these periods we do encourage guests to make use of the free re-entry throughout the day.

I am glad you enjoyed our 360 degree tunnel and Behind the Scenes tour.

If you would like to discuss any of the issues further, please feel free to contact us at slcbirmingham@merlinentertainments.biz.

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

So to start with there were queues out the door we printed ours from home apperently it would save money and by money if you mean £2 from £50 its pretty ridiculous. But we went around the maze of aquariums
and to the gift shop. All in all it was ok but doing it over the holidays means it is jam packed.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank dizzycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLC_Birmingham, Guest Relations Manager at National Sea Life Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi dizzycats,

As you have mentioned, the holiday periods are busier times, so to maximise the most from a visit. We do recommend that guests take advantage of free re-entry throughout the day!

We always recommend that guests book online to make savings. However booking online on the day will give you the smallest savings on tickets compared to if the booking was done further in advance.

Please come and visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews