We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apollo Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #103 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Rooms are accessed from outside rather than from internal corridor therefore the hotel has the appearance of a block of flats. Advantage of this is that for ground floor rooms, you are able to park right outside the door. My room was fine. Clean and functional. One issue however, it was hard to get to sleep during to a group of noisy people opposite who seemed to go outside the front door for a chat and a smoke. Later that night, around 0430, I was awoken by the same when I guess they had returned from a night out in the city. Needed earplugs to get back to sleep. Breakfast fairly good. Not convinced I would go back due to the risk of noise pollution.

Room Tip: Ground floor means you can park outside the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

After reading the reviews on here I didn’t expect much, stayed this Saturday just gone as it was the cheapest hotel near to the concert me and my son was attending. Nice surprise to how big and clean the room was we had booked a twin room and it was nice and spacious. Another surprise was the helpful lady on the bar in the middle of the night that served me a night cap and sorted my directions and train times for the next morning without any hesitation it’s always nice when the staff go that extra mile shame the receptionist in the morning couldn’t put a smile on her face but there was a very helpful and chatty gentlemen with her. Didn’t stay for breakfast so can’t comment there but we will def be back again next time we are In Birmingham. Apollo Hotel you was great.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Room was spacious and comfortable. They could possibly do with getting new windows because the noise from outside was quite bad. In general though it was an enjoyable stay in a good location for a reasonable price.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

First impression, was like a block of flats, not attractive at all. Our first room was ok, not the cleanest though, my husband dropped his shirt on the floor against the skirting board and it was covered in dust when he picked it up. Grubby chair in the corner that we didn't want to put any of our things on. Bathroom very old and basic and again, not clean. The basin was so small we struggled to wash our hands and the taps move as you try to turn them off and they dripped too. Went to take a shower before the gig but was not only a dribble but scalding. We tried between us for about 20 minutes to turn the temperature down but in the end called reception. After a member of staff attempted the same thing to no avail, we were moved to another room so had to dress and pack all of our belongings, which was by now getting late to get to the gig, so very stressed! When we tried the shower in the next room, it was a ridiculous trickle, would have been more effective to stand out in the rain! Hugely unimpressed with the Apollo and would not recommend to anyone. Not cheap either!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve and Net H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Usually stop over the road but tried here for a change.
Paid extra for a "premium room", but it was a basic hotel room. Wonder what the basic rooms are like. Nice receptionist on arrival.
Most of hotel needs a good update as it looks tired and dated.
Won't come here again will go back to the one I usually go to.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Campanile Birmingham
#99 of 118 in Birmingham
560 reviews
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#101 of 118 in Birmingham
489 reviews
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Birmingham

Address: 243-247 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 9RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: $82 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern business-oriented hotel situated 2 miles from Birmingham center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Apollo Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Apollo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing