We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good space” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Staying Cool at the Rotunda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Ranked #1 of 141 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good space”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Really liked the whole 'apartment ' idea. I love to make my own food.
Stayed on the 19th floor - the view could have been fantastic, but it was of Birmingham sadly.
There should be more of these. Really helpful reception staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordDiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thank you for your review, OxfordDiner. We are so pleased that you enjoyed staying with us.

We want there to be more of these too! Please subscribe to our e-newsletter for news on developments.

Tracey
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    146
    40
    9
    14
See reviews for
110
381
43
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a 3 night stay in clubman 1912 words don't do it justice. To start it is important to say the web site is really good accurate description easy to use staff responded quickly to e-mail enquiry post on line booking.directions for caracul g and access were spot on. Apartment was ideal great location fantastic gadgets lovely toiletries fantastic views we never shut the curtains, sky Tv, great coffee what more could you want.having read several reviews before staying I wasn't disappointed have already recommended apartments to friends and colleagues for work and leisure will retun and will be checking out other locations. Experience was so good it was hard to drag yourself out however Birmingham has some excellent restaurants so did manage it, eat at some of stai g cools recommendations, see separate reviews. This was another example of the great web site recommendations of what to do whee to eat etc. thanks for a great time

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank dillwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Reading your review left me with a big smile on my face. Thank you so much for your positive feedback on your stay with us.

It was great to hear that our website recommendations were useful to you. It looks like you enjoyed Lasan, Asha's, Loves and Edmunds as much as we do!

Thank you so much for recommending us to your friends and colleagues too. Much appreciated.

Regards,

Tracey
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed in the quad room on the 18th floor on new year's eve. The view of the city lit up at night is worth the money in itself. Everything you could need or want is in the room and if there is something missing the hotel is smack band in the middle of the town centre.
A few minor negatives, i thought although the furnishings were very trendy and modern, the sofa was very rough and irritable. The beds were comfy enough to make up for this though.
Couldnt work the digital tv, and the toilet seat wasn't screwed on properly! Coming back drunk was certainly a laugh when i sat down on the loo!
All in all this was a great room for getting ready for a special night out with friends, we had the facilities to cook our own dinner, put on our ipods, and get ready in style.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pirate-princess2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Hello,

We're glad to hear that you saw 2012 in with us and thanks for sharing your photos too.

I am sorry about the toilet seat - I don't know how that slipped through the maintenance net.

We hope that you'll come and stay with us again. If you do, please note that our staff are always very happy to help if you can't get TVs etc to work.

I am glad that the great bed made up for your dislike of the feel of the sofa. The Ultimate mattresses we use in all of of apartments are excellent. I slept on one myself last night and felt fantastic when I woke up this morning.

A very belated Happy New Year!

Regards,

Tracey
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Amazing experience! Panoramic views of Birmingham from a luxury apartment in the City’s central shopping area.
Well equipped in terms of layout, gadgets, toiletries, tea towels etc – we knew we just needed to search for anything we needed in the spacious apartment and that it would be there – finding the frying pan was the best challenge and part of the fun.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Hello Lesley,

What a lovely review. We're very glad that your penthouse experience was such a great one.

Our frying pan storage has been known to flummox guests - it's one of those things that makes complete sense once you know where it is!

Tracey
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

I was made extremely welcome by the staff at the Rotunda and everything worked well with the arrangements. The accommodation was just what I needed for work, rest and play (although I let the Chelsea team do all the playing!). The staff were extremely friendly and attentive and were able to answer my questions. The facilities were ideal and it was good to have an efficient WiFi system working in the room.

Room Tip: I guess the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyStayingCool, Owner at Staying Cool at the Rotunda, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Dear Peter,

Thank you for your review. I am particularly pleased that you rated our staff so highly as great service is what we aim for.

Your title "Work, rest and play..." is making me long for a Mars Bar!

Regards,

Tracey
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#5 of 141 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 141 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 141 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 141 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Genting Hotel
#4 of 141 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staying Cool at the Rotunda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staying Cool at the Rotunda

Property: Staying Cool at the Rotunda
Address: 150 New Street, Birmingham B2 4PA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#1 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#1 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price range (per night): $168 - $416
Hotel Class:4 star — Staying Cool at the Rotunda 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying Cool's stunning apartments on the top four floors of the refurbished Rotunda offer amazing views of the city, just three minutes from New Street and Moor Street Stations and right next door to Selfridges. Each apartment has floor-to-ceiling glass windows that open fully and the five Penthouses have their own private open balconies on the very top floor. These stylish apartments have been designed with maximum comfort in mind. Each comes with bespoke designer furniture, a very well-equipped Poggenpohl kitchen, espresso maker with complimentary locally sourced milk and Illy or Fairtrade coffee, oranges for the juicer, iPod dock, plus a king size bed with pocket sprung/memory foam mattress for the very best night's sleep. There's a 24 hour reception plus daytime/evening concierge offering Staying Cool's renowned service. Choose from Minis (studios), Clubmans (one beds), Maxis (two beds) and Roadsters (two bed Penthouses). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Staying Cool at the Rotunda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staying Cool At The Rotunda Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing