We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small but worth it”

Warwickshire Museum (Market Hall Museum)
Ranked #15 of 28 things to do in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Museum, celebrates the stories of Warwickshire and its people and has been refurbished thanks to a generous grant from the Heritage Lottery Fund and with the support of heritage, natural history and community groups from across the county. Explore our new galleries, discover treasures from Warwickshire’s collections and archives, and enjoy a tour of this historic, landmark building reimagined for our next generation of visitors. New accessible technology has been integrated into the museum and a themed approach that focuses on ‘Made Here, Getting Here and Living Here’ has been adopted. The refurbished gallery reflects the life and times of Warwickshire from ancient times to the present day. The visitors’ route starts on the ground floor, featuring Warwickshire’s most recent history, from the birth of the museum in 1836, to the present day. The exhibits include examples of locally manufactured items, collections that people have made, modern wildlife and iconic pieces from the Museum’s collections including the iconic Giant Irish Deer skeleton, a full-sized replica of the Wilmcote Plesiosaur skeleton and the Warwickshire Bear. There is also have a small cinema showing short films on local life and events. The first floor covers the period from the arrival of the Anglo-Saxons in Warwickshire to 1836 and elsewhere visitors will also explore Warwickshire’s Roman roots and even the unique remains of a Warwickshire dinosaur. Visit the Cafe and shop
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift
Reviewed 1 August 2018

this is a great little museum interactive for the children interesting items very helpful staff wheelchair friendly

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank BarryWalesAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageCultureWarks, Development Assistant (Marketing and Fundraising) at Warwickshire Museum (Market Hall Museum), responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Hi,

Thanks for the good review. Hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"irish deer"
in 2 reviews
"early man"
in 2 reviews
"short film"
in 2 reviews
"free entry"
in 5 reviews
"local history"
in 3 reviews
"short visit"
in 3 reviews
"centre of town"
in 3 reviews
"historic building"
in 2 reviews
"great for kids"
in 2 reviews
"on display"
in 3 reviews
"gift shop"
in 3 reviews
"all ages"
in 2 reviews
"tapestry"
in 16 reviews
"fossils"
in 13 reviews
"geology"
in 8 reviews
"exhibits"
in 18 reviews
"donation"
in 4 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2018

This is a small museum right in the centre of town, adjoining the old market place. On the ground floor is an OK cafe, and part of the museum. The rest of it is housed upstairs (there is also a lift). My criticism is two-fold - it's a bit "thin" on actual stuff to look at and secondly it's not clear what it's really "about". I think "Warwickshire through all time" might cover it. Quite a few imaginary tableaux featuring dinosaurs, early creaures, early man, bits of fossil. The most interesting exhibit was the active honey-bee hive upstairs where you can watch the insects through glass panels as they come & go to the outside and build their honeycomb.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageCultureWarks, Development Assistant (Marketing and Fundraising) at Warwickshire Museum (Market Hall Museum), responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Thanks for the review. The museum was redisplayed thanks to the Heritage Lottery Fund and reopened in 2017. We have 3 themes running through the museum 'Getting Here', Living Here' and Made Here' all relating to Warwickshire. Collections are from around the whole county and the new versatile display cabinets mean that they can be changed more frequently so I hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

Lovely little museum. Free entrance. Very touchy feeling so we did! Touched and felt everything going. History is fab!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank LoobieBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageCultureWarks, Development Assistant (Marketing and Fundraising) at Warwickshire Museum (Market Hall Museum), responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Hi Loobie

Thanks for visiting Market Hall Museum and the great review. Hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

Some quite good interpretive materials describing local history from 500 million years ago though focused with questionable specificity on just Warwickshire

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank DavidG897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageCultureWarks, Development Assistant (Marketing and Fundraising) at Warwickshire Museum (Market Hall Museum), responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Thanks for the review, our museum collections are only from Warwickshire. Hope you visit us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Before this museum underwent a renovation I thought it was fantastic. You could walk right through the doors and the whole ground floor was filled with big dinosaur skeletons and a giant Irish Elk right near the entrance - it was a very open space with lots to see.

Last time I visited this museum was shortly after the renovation. There was a lot less to see on the ground floor so I figured most of it had been moved upstairs. Unfortunately I never got to see what was upstairs because I was asked to leave by a member of staff. This member of staff was showing around a small group of students, and so apparently it wasn't OK for me also to be looking around upstairs in a PUBLIC museum.

What bothered me most about this was that if it was a rule that members of the public couldn't use the museum while school groups were there, then there should have been a sign or something. There was nothing there to tell me I couldn't go upstairs so I had to go through the embarrassment of being asked to leave in front of a bunch of people.
After this episode, I filled out a comment form to complain about this and never received an apology.
I will never be visiting this museum again.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageCultureWarks, Development Assistant (Marketing and Fundraising) at Warwickshire Museum (Market Hall Museum), responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Hi Mary,

Sorry to hear about your experience. When school groups visit a sign is placed on the front door, on the door to the first floor and on the gallery door about the closure. We limit the number of school visits each year and only have short time slots in each gallery to try and keep the galleries open for the public as much as possible.
If you would like to visit us again I suggest you call ahead on 01926 412500 to just check. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Warwickshire Museum (Market Hall Museum) also viewed

 
Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 

Been to Warwickshire Museum (Market Hall Museum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing