We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sack the dessert chef for his brulee - but everything else good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Warwick
Reviewed 27 March 2012

PROS - Stayed so we could visit Warwick Castle for our son's birthday - staff kindly gave a card and special dessert. Rooms were clean and spacious and beds beautifully firm. Good atmosphere in the smart bar area. Breakfasts offered plenty of choice, all correctly cooked and presented well. Swim pool very pleasant. Great connections to motorways and absolutely no traffic noise. Excellent for familes.
But CONS - Dinner - the double baked cheese souffle starter was very sunken indeed, more than one would expect. We were quickly offered a replacement, and the duck terrine was good. Main courses of lamb, and the steak were well presented and tasty. But beware the passion fruit creme brulee. Must have eaten dozens of these over the years and have never encountered anything like this before. The china terrine was piping hot to touch, the caramalised topping may have been crisp but was swimming in greasy residue, the top and sides of the brulee had started to separate and were hot to taste, yet the middle was still ice cold and firm. We complained and the waiter wondered if it had been placed under a grill to caramelise instead of using the blow torch, and we pointed out that surely warming up a cream based chilled dessert was not advisable. To be fair we were offered a replacement, but by this stage were a little bit sceptical of getting a pudding worth piling on the calories for.
I should point out the restaurant was not even half full, so the chef was not too busy to get it right. Standard of the starters and dessert certainly not worthy of the Hilton name.
Bathroom decor in the club room could have been a bit more stylish eg. cheap wall tiles marred the effect of the marble floor.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonertrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,405 - 1,409 of 1,655 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

Brilliantly located for both towns, just off motorway roundabout. The team that work there were all really friendly. We managed to secure excellent rates for Bed & Breakfast. The breakfast was incredible and worth the money we paid for it although like with most hotels the full rate for breakfast was expensice. They also had Costa coffee conscession in house too but this was very expensive. Car parking was only £5 per day. Would definately stay again.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor which had AC noise so if you are sensitive to noise I would avoid the 3rd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johilton, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear SA L

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am pleased that you found the Hotel's location met your needs and that you really enjoyed our breakfast service as this is one of the many aspects of our hotel that we pride ourselves on.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Warwick/Stratford-upon-Avon in the future.

Yours sincerely

Joanne Wilson
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

A very corporate hotel but distinguishes itself from other similar hotels because of the friendly staff, very clean and bright decoration and excellent location in the centre of England.
A well laid out bar area and food in the restaurant was above average for a business Hilton, the restaurant does close early at 9:00 but decent bar food is served until 11:00. The car parking was a fiver per night. I hate paying for parking but it is better than some.
I had a disabled room which was a good size, my colleague had a normal single room and was well… shall we say compact ? fair value at £100 per night for my room but not so happy withthe price for a normal single room.

Room Tip: disabled rooms are larger than standard single rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johilton, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear Paul B

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to note that you found the hotel's location ideal for your needs and you found our staff both professional and friendly and also pleased to note that you enjoyed the food in our restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Warwick/Stratford-upon-Avon.

Yours sincerely

Joanne Wilson
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Ok, this is a hotel that makes loads of money from business people because it has a great location but my word it just rips you off if you don;t have a corporate card. I was there 4 days and it was packed, conferences, meetings etc....

The rooms are basic but clean and really, really over priced. I had a Club room which in any other hotel gets you extras but not at the Hilton. I think the massive room rate meant that I got a dressing gown, wonderful! They charged me 5 pounds a day for the benefit of parking my car and you have to pay for the woeful internet. 25 pounds for the 4 days of maybe it will maybe it wont work. Having stayed in many hotels around the world I just don't know what makes them feel so special. Their not and this hotel is really, really average at best.

My best moment came from room service. I ordered a pizza and it was burnt to a crisp. Tell me, how did this terrible plate of non food ever leave the kichen??

So overall, dreadful, over priced, really bad staff and management. But hey, if you've got a corporate card who cares?? will not be returning.....

Room Tip: Stay at the Travel Lodge across the road, not here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irishexileBahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johilton, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear irishexileBahrain

Thank you for writing a response here on Trip Advisor.

We fully take on board your feedback with regard to the quality and is consistently a focus for us. We score very well with guest surveys, however there is always room for improvement and we welcome feedback to help achieve this.

With regards to car parking, these charges were introduced because of the spiralling costs of operating, maintaining and securing the car park and surrounds of the hotel. Since being implemented in March 2005 at the Hilton Warwick we have achieved a virtually crime free area and is therefore proving to be a major deterrent, a situation many of competitors would like to be in.

Your loyalty is important to us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future to allow us the opportunity to demonstrate a level of customer service and quality we are proud of.

Yours sincerely


Joanne Wilson
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on business.
Certainly the best Hilton I have stayed in by a mile. Very clean and bar/restaurant is well laid out and very comfortable. I had bar meals which were excellent. The major plus was the breakfast choice, much better than many hotels I have ever stayed in.
As I arived early I tried the pool, a bit on the small side considering how big the hotel is and the steam room wasn't working as well as it ought to either.
My room was clean and tidy, bathroom a tad on the small side but everything worked
Parking was free on this occasion
Staff very good and particuarly quick in the bar.
Definetely would use it again

Room Tip: The hotel is close to M40 so choose a room at the back ideally
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newquaygreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johilton, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear Newquaygreen

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay.

I am pleased to note that you enjoyed our restaurant/bar and in particular our breakfast and found our team members to be professional and efficient.

Your loyalty is important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Warwick/Stratford-upon-Avon.

Yours sincerely


Joanne Wilson
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warwick hotels
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon
3.2 km away
Castle Limes Hotel
Castle Limes Hotel
#2 of 11 in Warwick
642 reviews
9.2 km away
Wroxall Abbey Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Tudor House
The Tudor House
#9 of 11 in Warwick
277 reviews
6 km away
The Warwickshire
The Warwickshire
#7 of 11 in Warwick
108 reviews
2.2 km away
The Old Fourpenny Shop Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon

Address: Stratford Road, Warwick CV34 6RE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Warwick
Price Range: AU$109 - AU$238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a refreshing stay at the Hilton Warwick/Stratford-upon-Avon hotel, conveniently located 20 minutes from Birmingham and the National Exhibition Center and situated near Warwick's premier cultural, historical and shopping attractions. Explore Warwick castle or Shakespeare's birth place while you are in town. Enjoy a work out in the LivingWell Fitness Center then indulge at our 360 Restaurant or enjoy a relaxing coffee, light bites or a scrumptious Afternoon Tea in our Lounge and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Warwick / Stratford-upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Warwick / Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Warwick
Hilton International Warwick
Warwick Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing