We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Cottage, Perfect Weekend!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Moorhen Cottage in centre of Stratford upon Avon on canalside (Blue one in Row)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Moorhen Cottage in centre of Stratford upon Avon on canalside (Blue one in Row)
Moorhen Cottage Dining Area Moorhen Cottage bright and sunny kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Moorhen Cottage in centre of Stratford upon Avon on canalside (Blue one in Row)
Moorhen Cottage Dining Area
Moorhen Cottage bright and sunny kitchen
Moorhen Cottage Dining Table and Dresser
Moorhen Cottage view to back garden gate on to canal towpath
Moorhen Cottage Sitting Room
Moorhen Cottage Log Burner in sitting room
Moorhen Cottage Master Bedroom (view over waterside)
Moorhen Cottage Twin Bedroom
Moorhen Cottage Third Bedroom with view over the waterside
Moorhen Cottage contemporary Bathroom
Moorhen Cottage - view from canal towpath through back gate
Moorhen Cottage outside dining in private garden
Moorhen Cottage view through back gate as boats go by
Moorhen Cottage view from Master Bedroom over garden and canalside
Moorhen Cottage seating by canal gate
Moorhen Cottage garden
Moorhen Cottage visitors looking through canal gate
Moorhen Cottage locals outside back gate
Moorhen Cottage front and drive
Moorhen Cottage nearest canal lock gates
Moorhen Cottage towpath walk to town centre, River Avon and RSC theatre
Welcome to Moorhen Cottage
Moorhen Cottage local family
Moorhen Cottage view to lock gates and bridge - short cut to Shakespeare's Birthplace
Stratford upon Avon has outstanding Christmas Decorations
Stratford upon Avon and some of the Christmas Lights
Stratford upon Avon Christmas Market
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ruth M
1 review
“Wonderful Cottage, Perfect Weekend!!”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had the most wonderful weekend at Moorhen cottage to celebrate my mums birthday. Sue laid on a VERY generous welcome basket of goodies and the house was supplied with everything you could need!

Very quick and lovely walk into town down the towpath into town, and we got to be part of the Shakespere's 400th anniversary celebrations!

Would highly reccomend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor and location
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lmcfaull
Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic House in Central Stratford location”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Cannot recommend this house highly enough. Located close to all amenities. House beautifully furnished throughout. The owner could not have been more helpful - fantastic communication and a generous welcome basket. Thoughtful touches throughout, such as milk in fridge, plenty of towels etc. Went with a small group of friends but every single one of the party wants to return with their partners/families as Stratford such a lovely town and this such a perfect place to stay. A wonderful weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Small thoughtful touches such as welcome basket and milk in fridge and excellent customer service from the owner.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay and liked Moorhen Cottage. Thanks for being the perfect clean and tidy guests! Hope to see you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosalind...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A home from home!”
Reviewed 3 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic house in a very convenient location. The property has been finished to a very high standard, with a lot of small touches that make the stay extra special. I couldnt reccomend staying here highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Holiday Rental In Stratford Upon Avon”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay at Moorhen Cottage. The location is really convenient, a short walk to the town centre and theatre, and close to supermarkets etc for stocking up if staying for a longer break. We really enjoyed being able to walk down the canal path. Having the parking space at the house is really useful, I know from previous visits to Stratford that parking can be tricky, it was nice to be able to walk into town and not worry about finding space and paying for parking.

The house itself is lovely, the owners obviously take a lot of care over it, and it is very nicely done - it has all the mod-cons, but still has a lot of character - we loved the pictures on the walls, and all the pretty fabrics. It was really nice to have the big kitchen/diner and the separate lounge, and we were lucky enough with the weather to be able to sit out in the garden - plenty of seating provided, and a very private garden.

We really enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again on our next visit to the area. I highly recommend this house to anyone visiting Stratford.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved the house and location, and seeing the swans on the canal.
Liked least: Only downside was that we couldn't stay longer!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayla480
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage near the heart of Stratford-upon-Avon”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I have stayed at the cottage a number of times over the last year, for long weekends as well as some longer trips and have found it an enjoyable place to stay. The cottage is located near the centre of Stratford-upon-Avon, close to Stratford's famous canal, and provides a route to the centre of town. The cottage has a lot of rooms, making it a very flexible place to stay- it doesn't feel too big for a couple, and not too small for a large party either.

The patio doors to the garden make the kitchen feel really big, and is great when sunny as we had them open, sometimes even having a BBQ on the decking. It has off road parking for two cars which is fantastic in Stratford-upon-Avon, and is close to routes in and out of town for any excursions. The owner Sue was always very helpful when arranging to stay and gave some great recommendations of restaurants and things to do during the visit.

I have enjoyed my stays, finding the cottage comfortable and would highly recommend it. I look forward to staying there again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere of the cottage
Liked least: I had trouble with the heating, but Sue left good instructions so we worked out how to use it.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing