We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Courtyard Cottage

Snug and cosy at all seasons
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Snug and cosy at all seasons
A pretty cottage in a peaceful, pretty village The large double bedroom overlooks the quiet historic village street
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Snug and cosy at all seasons
A pretty cottage in a peaceful, pretty village
The large double bedroom overlooks the quiet historic village street
The bedroom retains its old elm-boarded floor
A neat, well-equipped kitchen with all conveniences
A clean white bathroom with hand-shower and bath
The charming enclosed courtyard
The snug where you can relax in private or catch up on your e-mails
There is no shortage of reading matter
You will immediately feel at home
The cottage retains all its historic charm
Our wide, quiet village street - 20mph and no through traffic
The delightful St Helen's church will welcome you
Relax by the winding River Stour
Visit the Royal Shakespeare Theatre just a few minutes away
Take a trip on the historic River Avon
Visit Harvard House and the Shakespeare properties in Stratford
Tour the glorious Cotswold countryside
Visit picturesque Cotswold villages
Admire the Cotswold gardens and houses
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
andie500
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed 13 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We have stayed here before so knew how lovely it would be. The fire was roaring which was a bonus on such a cold damp weekend. No doubt we will be booking again as the cottage is in a lovely village and so close to Stratford on Avon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2017
We are always happy to welcome you to our cosy little cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to tell us about your stay. We are so pleased to see this as we do try hard and we look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tom H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A wonderful, relaxing stay. The cottage is beautiful and set in a peaceful, pleasant village. The cottage was well equipped, and the comfy bed, cosy fire and bath made it a luxurious stay. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2016
Thank you. We are so pleased as we do try hard to get it right! I hope we may welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highexpec...
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Could be great”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

It's a quaint little cottage in a pleasant village near Stratford but should be a lot better. On the plus side the owners left a welcoming bottle of wine which was a nice touch and the cottage was warm in cold weather. BUT. It's advertised as having wide screen TV but don't expect a decent sized screen - think tiny, so that's a bit oversold. The most unacceptable thing is the lack of hot water.: there's no shower so a bath is the only solution, fair enough,it's an old cottage. But 3 inches of water and the hot runs out? This is completely unacceptable! They make something of the log fire but again because they leave so little wood, you'll have a log fire for a couple of hours only. The bed must have been one of the cheapest they could find; it's hard and you feel the springs. The last thing to mention concerns the Guest Information file which is full of the owners complaints about the misdemeanors of previous guests who annoyed them by not taking out bins, by damaging a sofa and by letting the hand held shower spray water around and so on. Oh and there's a message that they want guests to only bother them (contact them) in an emergency- with only heavily emphasised. So yes a quaint little cottage but not a great experience and we won't be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2016
As owners we are of course saddened to read these remarks and see that these clients were unhappy. But it is hard to respond meaningfully because in the twelve years we have been letting Courtyard Cottage, we have never previously been told of any such problems. We are particularly surprised that the size of the television was the first concern mentioned as we take the view that someone booking a country cottage comes primarily to enjoy the beautiful location. The alleged lack of hot water is a complete mystery. We have now had this checked and can confirm there is no problem and can only conclude that the guests were unfamiliar with the working of a Combi boiler. No one else has ever said the bed is uncomfortable and it was certainly not cheap - John Lewis! Yes, it is firm because the advice we were given is that this is most people's preference and is the best choice for a cottage - and that a soft mattress can be harmful to anyone with back problems. Yes, we only provide a starter basket of logs and make this clear in our listing but to suggest it lasts only two hours is just fantasy. So whilst we are naturally very sorry these visitors were disappointed, we can only refer potential guests to our other reviews.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KERRY F
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL COTTAGE, FANTASTIC LOCATION”
Reviewed 14 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Cottage exactly as stated, cosy, warm, fantastic village location, every need catered for. Slight issue with front door key, nothing major just used back door entrance instead. Good quality bedding and towels, all items for kitchen provided, wine left by owner, very thoughtful touch. Village pub at end of street provided a lovely Sunday dinner, very well priced and busy, always a good sign. Location could not have been better, easy access into Stratford but also nice drive down into Oxfordshire too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosyness of the cottage and location
Liked least: Fireside chairs were fine for a short sit but slighty uncomfortable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2016
Sorry you had problem with front door - sticking lock now resolved.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing