We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“extremely unfriendly pub with complete lack of understanding”
Review of Dirty Duck

Dirty Duck
Price range: USD 11 - USD 70
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We called at the pub as part of our Easter monday celebrations around the town, which we have been doing for over 40 years including this pub. It is an annual morris dance tour of the town which most of the town really enjoys. The manager at this pub locked the door on us trapping customers inside ( health and safety issue?) the pub only had a few customers which was perhaps fortunate. The customers outside were really shocked by this attitude and said to us how disgraceful this was. They also would liked to have seen us dance. Very sad to see such a negative attitude to traditional english customs!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JonCrossley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam P, General Manager at Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

We are truly sorry that you feel that you were treated badly we were busy this afternoon and as I explained to your friends at the bar that we had a bad experience with the morris men last year I would like you to give us a call next time you would like to come in and we will surely look after you next time thanks again Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (967)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018

Had aubergine starter with garlic bread just delicious followed by cheese board - fresh and moist ...in actor's bar with doggy. Sam's stand-in Barbara was a helpful GEM ..... Just a safe tasty time - never disappoints.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BetteAshley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam P, General Manager at Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

thank you for the lovely kind words and we are really glad Barbra looked after you and you enjoyed your visit thanks again Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Visited on our annual Easter Morris dancing tour of Stratford-upon-Avon, which we have done for over forty years, only to have the door of a half empty pub locked in our faces! We had a party of about fifty prospective customers, who have regularly frequented this establishment over the years without any problems. Unlikely to return!

Thank christoferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam P, General Manager at Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

We are sorry that you were refused entry to the pub but we were pretty full at the time with family,s and dogs enjoying there food and drinks we did not have good experience with the Morris men last year and with the weather not to good, and the noise with the bells and the singing and drumming if you could pre warn us next time, We fully understand you are enjoying the pubs of Stratford but maybe start at the duck first and move to the other pubs in the Town after thanks again Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Have been to the Dirty Duck many times and always have a warm welcome from Sam, Patryk and the team. We were seated in the conservatory at the back, which is bright and airy and has a very nice atmosphere. Patryk helped us choose a bottle of wine to have with our lunch, he was very knowledgeable and the Rose he recommended was perfect. My husband had the roast dinner and opted for beef, I went for the steak and ale pie. We didn't have to wait for our food at all and it was piping hot and well presented. The Yorkshire pudding was the size of the plate! The beef was extremely tender with a good selection of veg. My pie was also delicious the meat fell apart and the pastry was perfect, again served with a good selection of veg. We had to go for a dessert as there was such a good choice! I had the Banoffi pie which was to die for and my husband had the Black forest sundae which he hasn't stopped raving about. A thoroughly enjoyable visit, with great surroundings and friendly helpful staff. A big thank you to Patryk. I cannot recommend paying them a visit highly enough!

Thank janswan2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam P, General Manager at Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hello,

I am absolutely loving that you enjoyed the pub. Its great to hear that you are so high on our staff. It is great to host you every time.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Sam, Patrick and the team looked after us very well! We were a party of 11 plus two infants in highchairs. They were very attentive to our needs and service was very speedy for all the time we were there. The food was good as well. It was perfect for our needs! Grateful thanks to all

Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam P, General Manager at Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Helloo,

Once again its a pleasure to have such a great guest in our establishment. Thank you for choosing us.

Looking forward to seeing you again very soon

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dirty Duck also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Dirty Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing