We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely lodge in a peaceful location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of River Meets Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SnD_Notts
Ruddington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely lodge in a peaceful location”
Reviewed 9 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My wife and I, along with her parents, spent a few days here in May and we all loved it. The owners met us onsite and gave us a tour of the lodge which included a guide to operating all of the numerous mod cons!

The lodge itself is in a peaceful location directly overlooking the river and is spacious and very comfortable with good quality furnishings and equipment throughout, including on the outdoor balcony. It has everything you require and more.

The location is perfect for exploring Stratford and the surrounding area. Just over the footbridge close to the lodge you can catch the river taxi which runs to and from Stratford centre between 1 or 2 times an hour (depending on demand) between 10:00 & 17:30, and costs £1.50 each way. Alternatively you can walk into Stratford either by crossing the footbridge and walking through the site on that side to Tiddington Road and right into Stratford or by walking back out of the Avon Park site onto Warwick Road. After a few hundred yards you can then go through the car park on the left hand side and follow the path along the riverside directly into Stratford. Both routes are approximately 1 mile.

The village of Tiddington which is a 15 minute walk from the lodge has a pub which serves food, a Spar shop and a Tapas restaurant, all of which we used, along with both Indian & Chinese takeaways, which we didn't try.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location
Liked least: Water pressure for shower & bath could be better
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola P
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Peaceful, luxurious and well appointed lodge”
Reviewed 7 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We were met by David, who was very friendly and showed us around the lodge and all the mod cons on offer. Then we just sat back and relaxed, the view of the river was superb and the decking area was very well equipped with plenty of seating. A short walk over the footbridge to the river taxi and that takes you into Stratford Marina, also over the footbridge is a café which serves breakfast for an incredible 99p. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend, indulging in the use of the spa bath, which takes a while to run, but well worth the wait, and were very sorry to leave on the Monday morning. I'd have no hesitation in recommending this lodge to anyone, and I will certainly be returning. Thank you David for a lovely place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location to the river
Liked least: Mattresses, I have a bad back and found them too soft.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: relaxing location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the sap bath and tv!
Liked least: loved it all
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bernard T
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly recomended well appointed Hi Tech Luxury Lodge in peaceful riverside location.”
Reviewed 14 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We have just returned from a 4 day break at River Meets Lodge, where we were met by the friendly owner who showed us around the lodge and was very helpful in explaining how everything worked etc. The lodge was beautiful, very clean and extremely well appointed with hi tech gadgetry everywhere. For example there was a Jacuzzi bath with an integrated flat screen TV and in the lounge there was a 42" flat screen TV, that automatically stowed itself into the fireplace. We were fortunate to have good weather where we could dine al-fresco on the very well-equipped patio which overlooked the river.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this lodge to anyone looking for a break in a luxury lodge in this area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful riverside location
Liked least: Nothing springs to mind!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 211
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing