We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently high standrds”
Review of Penryn Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Penryn Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2017

I have stayed at Penryn 4 or 5 times now and standards have always been high. Everything is clean and comfortable and there are thoughtful little touches in the rooms. The breakfast is excellent - yoghurt, fruit and cereals on a help-yourself basis. The cooked breakfast is done to order and there is a range of coffees and teas. I once had to stay in another guest house in Stratford because Penryn was full and the breakfast was not a patch on Penryn's. The staff are friendly and helpful and it's useful to be able to leave one's car if walking into Stratford. It is a little out of town, but not more than 15 minutes' walk to the centre. I would highly recommend this guest house.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lindasN5712DU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestHouseStratford, Owner at Penryn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Thank you so much about your detailed review. It is our pleasure to have you here and we look forward to welcoming you again. Always contact us directly to book a room as the rooms are not always available online. Best regards, Elena & Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for Penryn Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017

Stayed with 3 friends in June, all our rooms were nice, very clean, comfy beds and came with fans.
Breakfast was lovely and could use the fridge downstairs to put our drink in.
Very friendly.
About 15 minutes walk to town which was fine but taxi is only a couple of pounds if wanted.
Would happily stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: We had 3 rooms and all were fine.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestHouseStratford, Owner at Penryn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thank you for writing the review. We are glad you found our rooms very clean and with comfortable beds. We do hope you will have the opportunity to return to Stratford as it is a lovely town all year around...best regards, Elena & Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Our second stay here with our dog Lola
Ideal for walking in Stratford and surrounding area.
Comfortable and clean with a superb breakfast
Elena and her staff are friendly and obliging
Would thoroughly recommend

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alison455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestHouseStratford, Owner at Penryn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Many thanks for writing the review and for returning to stay with us. We are glad you liked the detached room and you find our breakfast excellent. We look forward to welcoming you next time. Best wishes, Elena & Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

Unfortunately this is said to have been just a ten minute walk to the town, however it was more like 20-30 minute walk at a leisurely pace ( as you are on a break ), we were out in what I would describe as a renovated garage, we were not informed to access shower water you required to put on a switch outside the bathroom , most difficult to regulate water either boiling hot or freezing cold ( lucky weather was hot ). Breakfast was ok, bed was comfortable, no fridge for storing a cold drink, owners were fairly scarce, my computer screen is larger than the smallest tv I have seen for many years so went to pub to see some of the tennis, did go to RSC play which was pretty good, Warick castle is a pretty good day out birds of prey show excellent , Ann Hathaway's house fine , river cruise nice and relaxing. Took a river side walk to Welford no real signage for very large parts of the walk , there was an area which had moved away from the river climbing upwards very unsafe rails or no rails at all one saving grace a very nice pub lunch at The Bell, more accurate signage required it is suppose to be 2-2-30 hrs took us 3 and a half after going wrong way a few times. Now back to guest house it was very clean.

Room Tip: Try somewhere closer to town not on the edge of town ask for inside house rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhonda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestHouseStratford, Owner at Penryn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Hello Rhonda,

Thank you for your comments. I will address them as I believe the rating you have given us is unfair.
I have choosen to put you in the garden room or the detached room (which yes was a garage many years ago but it is a room loved by a lot of guests) as you stayed with us 4 nights and this room offers privacy, with access to the little patio and it is very quiet being off the main road. We have many returning guests just for this room. Obviously from your review, it did not suit you, but we are prepared to know we cant pleased everyone, although we try!
The TV - it is a small TV if you compared with the giants tv, but the size is most than suitable for the distance from where you are watching it.
The shower - I do apologize if it wasn't explained how to use it, I will address this with my staff. For your information, there are clear indications in the brown folder on how to use it.
Guests can store their drinks in the 2 fridges in the dining room. We dont put fridges in the room as they can be quite noisy....
Owners scarce - I personally came down to your table in two of the mornings trying to initiate a conversation but you gave me the impression you dont want to engage in one...you did not even greet or smile when you made your appearance for breakfast in the morning...I am not an intrusive or chatty host and I will never be. I am more than happy to have a two way discussion when I feel my guests want this.
Distance -Google maps say we are situated 0.8miles to the centre of the town which is the American Fountain on Rother Street ( as defined by the Stratford upon Avon Council). It is down to each individual how long it takes to walk this distance. But a reasonable person would do it in 15 minutes the most at a leisurely pace.
Enjoy the summer whatever you do....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

I recently stayed at the Penryn for a weekend with two lady friends. My room was very clean. I had a lovely shower, as the temperature was constant all the time. The breakfast was lovely too. Nothing was too much trouble for Elena she was very lovely as was the other lady there I spoke to. I would definitely recommend the Penryn and would love to stay there again if I was in the area. Thank you to the Penryn Guest House for a lovely stay!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank dianehW6154RU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestHouseStratford, Owner at Penryn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Many thanks for your lovely review, it means a lot to us. Hope you will visit us again. Regards, Elena & Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.5 km away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,801 reviews
1.1 km away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,527 reviews
1.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,101 reviews
1.4 km away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,136 reviews
1.2 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penryn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penryn Guest House

Address: 126 Alcester Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 9DP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: $106 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Penryn Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome awaits you at Penryn where close attention is given to ensure your comfort and enjoyment. We have an open check in policy - check in at your convenience and you'll be welcomed with a pot of tea or coffee and delicious cake when available. We are situated within walking distance from the town centre, train station, Ann Hathaway's cottage, Stratford Racecourse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Agoda so you can book your Penryn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penryn Hotel Stratford Upon Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing