We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (438)
Filter reviews
438 results
Traveller rating
196
146
63
21
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
146
63
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building pitch and putt wedding venue separate building swimming pool and sauna small gym wedding breakfast extra pillows wedding reception lovely grounds course meal weekend stay on the small side biscuits car park business trip beans
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 438 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

I really liked the old building and the grounds. The hotel gardens were lovely, with beautiful apple trees and the atmosphere *when outside or in the old building* was one of a charming country hotel with a lot of character. The staff were adequately friendly. The room was incredibly clean - spotless - top marks to housekeeping.

However, as has been mentioned many times, the rooms are in a separate annex which is completely characterless, inside and out. Walking into the building which the rooms are in, you are hit by a strong smell of chlorine, since the same building houses the pool. This entire building is dated, has carpets that need replacing, being shabby and old, and strange wooden furniture.

We had to move room, as the room we had seemed to be next to the boiler system, and the noise was terrible, lucky enough when we stayed it was not raining as you have to walk across court yard for breakfast

The breakfast was OK, but not sure how they cooked the mushrooms but had a strange taste

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundialManager, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear Susan
Thank you for your review your feedback is very important to us and will help to prioritorise our ongoing capital investment programme.
We do hope that you will choose to visit Woodside again if you are visiting Warwickshire in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

My husband and I had our wedding here last month, and had an absolutely wonderful day. We had been in constant contact with the venue for around 2 years prior to the wedding, and they were always very responsive and answered any queries we had. The wedding itself was great, and everyone commented on how much they loved the venue, and the hotel itself. I do think the bridal suite could do with a little upgrade, and a bit more attention to detail, as the walls and carpet were marked a lot, and both windows couldn't be opened whilst we were there. The food here was amazing, our wedding meal was fantastic, and breakfast was great too. We were really pleased we chose Woodside as our wedding venue, and are even more delighted that our guests loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirsty086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundialManager, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Dear Kirsty
Thank you for taking time to write your review following your special day at Woodside. We were very pleased to read that you had a wounderful day and the service you recieved including the planning for the wedding was very attentive.
We do hope that you will return if the opportunity arises in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

I was playing in the National bowls at Leamington and was looking for a hotel near to Leamington and came across this hotel.Only 5 miles drive away.
Great price for bed and breakfast and we read the reviews which were good so we went ahead and booked.
The hotel is set within its own grounds and you have the use of the pool gym and other facilities.
Good check in and they gave us direction to our room which was in a separate annex.
Room was very good, very clean, lovely comfy bed, tea coffee and biscuits.
Fab bathroom with power shower.
Staff were excellent in black and white uniform with great customer service nothing too much trouble and always on hand with a friendly smile.
Breakfast is wonderful everything you would want from, full English breakfast, omelettes, smoked haddock to fresh fruit and croissants, very very good, and again that friendly smile.
Could not fault this hotel will use again when next in the area.
Thank you for looking after us.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viv N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundialManager, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear Viv N
Thank you for your review following your stay wth us while attending the National Bowls at Leamington Spa.
We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit and very much look forward to see you again if you attend the annual Bowls event in Leamington Spa next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

Stayed here for 1 night recently, good hotel. Loved the swimming and sauna! They also have really good opening times. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Breakfast the next morning was brilliant, loads of choice! We left 2 items of clothing behind and the hotel called to let us know, which i thought was really good of them. We had it posted as we live 2 hours away and it was cheap to send and came 2 days later! Thanks again!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dl2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundialManager, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Dear Leighg18
Thank you for taking time to write your review folloowing your recent stay. We were pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit and it was a pleasure to post your items of clothing back to you. We do hope that you will choose to return in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

I recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on business in the area.

I really liked the old building and the grounds. The hotel gardens were lovely, with beautiful apple trees and the atmosphere *when outside or in the old building* was one of a charming country hotel with a lot of character. The staff were adequately friendly. The room was incredibly clean - spotless - top marks to housekeeping.

However, as has been mentioned many times, the rooms are in a separate annex which is completely characterless, inside and out. Walking into the building which the rooms are in, you are hit by a strong smell of chlorine, since the same building houses the pool. This entire building is dated, has carpets that need replacing, being shabby and old, and strange wooden furniture. The toilet didn't flush on many occasions - I just kept trying every few hours until it decided to work! The windows can't be opened wider than a few inches because the rooms are on the ground floor and the room smelt stuffy and unaired when I went in - I kept the windows open day and night, the entire 2 days I was there. And the sound-proofing was questionable - anytime people next door plugged things in/out of their sockets, I heard it, and there was a baby crying two rooms away frequently, which I could also hear. (Fortunately the baby slept through the night!).

I don't want to make it sound awful - in fact, for the price, it's pretty good. But I feel like the entire building with rooms needs a complete renovation and redecoration to modernise. Tiny details add up: The stained grout. The toilet which didn't flush. The water stain on the desk. The weirdly unstylish furniture. The lack of sound-proofing. If you want a hotel which fits with the main building, something has to be done about the rooms...

I had a peek at the indoor pool, and this is purely a functional pool with zero view. It you just want to swim, have at it. If you care at all about where you are swimming or about hanging out in a beautiful place - no way.

Breakfast was ok for me, since I had fruit - dried and fresh - with yoghurt. I tried the cooked breakfast and it was pretty tasteless. Fried eggs were kept on a warming plate for people to help themselves to - how long does it take to fry an egg??

Wifi was excellent with a good signal.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank xenakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SundialManager, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear Xenakin
Thank you for taking time to write your review.
Please be assured that your feedback is very important to us and will be used to help us to prioritise our ongoing refurbishment programme of our bedrooms.
We do hope that you will choose to return in the future if the opportunity arises.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews