We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent cafe. Wonderful homemade ice cream”
Review of Cafe in the Park

Cafe in the Park
Ranked #287 of 1,397 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 January 2017

The Cafe in the Park is a really excellent cafe in Exhibition Park. The coffee is good, the mince pies with brandy butter just before Xmas were among the best that I have ever tasted. However, their homemade ice cream is absolutely unbeatable: great texture, great flavours

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KateB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2016

Nice walk in a city park, followed by an excellent cafe visit. Relaxed place, windows out on the park. big comfy sofas, newspapers, a big plate of fresh quiche and salad. Good ice cream and cakes and coffee/chai latte too. Not over-priced. Child friendly and happy to have dogs in. Friendly chef came out and had a chat. Happy days.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kelvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

Decided to have breakfast here for first time and and got more than we could ever have expected. Doggy friendly and generous portions. Chef was a complete delight and my omelette was huge and very tasty. Highly recommend

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

A really good cafe. The food is plain but very good. Being just a short walk round the corner from Newcastle RVI it is convenient for a break if you are visiting in the hospital for the day. Good food and fresh air just what the doctor ordered,

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

My wife and I visited the cafe with our daughter on Sunday afternoon. Weather was poor, but the cafe really was wonderful. Very well appointed with excellent staff. We each had a meal, all three of us were very pleased with the quality. Very friendly team and a lovely clean bright interior, will definitely go back on our next visit to Newcastle.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank keithb1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe in the Park also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Cafe in the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing