We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile”
Review of As You Like It

As You Like It
Reserve with OpenTable
As You Like It is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 10 - USD 21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Saturday lunch at As you like it proved an inspired choice. Great venue, good food and tremendous service. Easy parking just around the corner.
Top dishes were sea bass from the main menu and Posh mushrooms on toast from the specials menu.
Given how busy the restaurant was with a wedding party, the service was excellent too.

Thank Audouin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueManager, Manager at As You Like It, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Hi Audouin1,

we are so happy that even though it was a busy service for the guys they still managed to give you that top service that we aim to give everyone on their visit to As You Like It. We shall pass on your compliments to the chefs and the staff.

Hope to see you guys again soon,

Thanks,

As You Like It

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 135 of 1,429 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2017

It was a meeting of Dads from my daughter's school and it was the first time we were all meeting and someone suggested this place because we could get a dedicated table that would accommodate 14 men.
We were waited on from start to finish! We had someone come to take the drinks order from the table and bring them to us (rather than us having to go to the bar, one after another) what this meant was that we had more time to engage in conversations and get to know one another.
We ordered from the set menu and all the meals were brought at the same time! No awkward waiting intervals as you would find elsewhere. Would certainly be going back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 247Alexana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueManager, Manager at As You Like It, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Hi 247Alexana,

we are so happy that's dads day out was a success!

Many thanks for your lovely review and hope to see you guys again soon, next time bring the kids and you can have a daddy day care day together. :-)

Thanks,

As You Like It

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Thank you so much for an unforgettable wedding day. Stunning room (the Frangipani Suite), great service and seamless structure/organisation from the team (huge thanks to Maddy who was incredible, and of course Nicole who helped us to plan what was the best day of our lives). The food was fab, too - as we were married at 4pm, we chose a hot fork buffet which was delicious - while the ‘Something Traditional’ drinks package was more than ample for our 80 guests. Shout out to AYLI’s chosen DJs as well, who played our rather eclectic choices from death metal to club classics, and had people on the dance floor from 8pm til 2am. The whole thing was absolutely perfect for our 1930s themed November wedding. My husband and I can not recommend this place enough!

Thank chloetc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueManager, Manager at As You Like It, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Hi Chloe,

CONGRATULATIONS!

We are so happy that your special day will be an unforgettable day for you.

We will also pass on your message to Maddy and the wedding team as well.

Many thanks for your kind words and your great review.

Wish to see you guys soon.

As You Like It

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

What a lovely place and a lovely meal I was out celebrating my 50th birthday with my in-laws settings very comfortable the meal which I had ribeye steak was amazing absolutely melt in the mouth steak well done as you like it the staff were brilliant very polite very attentive and very smart well done and keep up the good work can't fault the evening one bit

Thank Malcolm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueManager, Manager at As You Like It, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Hi Malcom,

We really appreciate your kind words and your great review with regards to celebrating your 50th Birthday and also ecstatic you chose us as well!

We hope that you dine with us on your next birthday and many more after that.

Thanks,

As You Like It

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

Our first time at this lovely restaurant, the staff from us entering the restaurant were brilliant, lots of age groups, we are in our 70's but did not feel out of place, we were looked after by Dale, he was brilliant, the food was really good but for me and my husband the portions were just too big, our loss, great for students, would recommend it we are going back soon for the Sunday lunch and for our wedding anniversary. A lovely restaurant, great food, but most of all lovely staff.

Thank Elainejaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueManager, Manager at As You Like It, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Hi Elainejaney,

Dale is an absolute delight! we are so happy that you had a excellent visit from start to finish and glad to hear that no matter the age everyone felt at home!

We would love to see you on a Sunday lunch and especially for your wedding anniversary! If you get in contact with us I'm sure we can make your anniversary that little bit more special.

Thanks,

As You Like It

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed As You Like It also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to As You Like It? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing