We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, a good hostel”
Review of Albatross Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albatross Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Very centrally located - good for transport and if you want to 'go out' in the city centre. There are cheap laundry facilities, the rooms are clean and aired, a large space for cooking, and free toast and coffee 24/7. The wifi isn't very good on the whole but it does work. Girls have their own bathrooms which is good for them I think. There is a communal area with sofas and TV which is quite comfortable, a basement room with pool table and patio area to sit outside off the main street. The rooms dont have anywhere secure to leave your things, but there is a facility downstairs next to reception. Staff are pretty helpful on the whole and seem to do what they can to help. Overall, a good hostel!

Room Tip: Any, but preferably near to the bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivanamovealot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albatross H, Manager at Albatross Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Hello,

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased you were happy with The Albatross and our facilities. Our wifi has been getting upgraded as we are having a full house refurbishment, this has led to some temporary issues with this. Hopefully this did not cause you too much inconvenience throughout your stay.

We are currently working to fit secure storage in all of our rooms, this should be completed over the coming weeks.

Should you wish to stay here at The Albatross in the future, please contact our Reception team who will be happy to help.

Jaimie and The Albatross Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2016

Clean, nice rooms, equiped kitchen, comfortable beds, good bathroms and showers, good decoration, lounge with comfortable sofa and TV,...
tea, coffe,milk, toasts, butter free
No lockers but safety rooms with key card

Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank monicarB5116YJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albatross H, Manager at Albatross Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

Hello,

Thank you for the review. We are pleased you liked The Albatross and found everything in good order.

We are currently working with management to install lockers, or other forms of storage for guests within the rooms. We hope to have this completed in the near future.

All the best!

Jaimie and The Albatross Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Hostel was adequate in good location but rooms were bare minimum though clean but cold. Kitchen and lounge were good. The laundry was difficult to use and the instructions did not pertain to the 'new' machines

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fworthd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albatross H, Manager at Albatross Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

Hi,

Thank you for taking time to leave a review. We are currently going through a refurb here so the rooms are in the process of being upgraded. I will pass on your comments about the laundry to management and we will look at placing new signage to assist the guests.

Thanks,

Jaimie and The Albatross Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016

We always love going to Albatross Hostel . Very, very friendly staff. Clean ans spacious rooms. Situated in the centre and near the staition, so itis ideal for everything one wants to do.
Brilliant!!!
It was a schooltrip!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hHildegard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albatross H, Manager at Albatross Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

Hello,

Thanks for your kind words, we really appreciate the feedback! We are pleased you found the staff to be friendly and enjoyed your stay here.

We hope you had a safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you again, should you be returning to Newcastle.

Thanks

Jaimie and The Albatross Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Cheep and cheerful just what we needed! Good for a place to put your head down! Perfect location with pubs left right and centre with a Tesco and other shops and fast food places within walking distance. Defiantly say here again

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MattWilkinson95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albatross H, Manager at Albatross Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2016

Hi,

Thanks for your review, we really appreciate the feedback.

We are pleased to see you would stay here again, should you wish to book with us again, please contact our Reception team who will be happy to assist you.

Regards

Jaimie and The Albatross Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.5 km away
Euro Hostel Newcastle
Euro Hostel Newcastle
#59 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
466 reviews
0.3 km away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,077 reviews
0.5 km away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#18 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Grey Street Hotel
Grey Street Hotel
#45 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
47 reviews
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#5 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
776 reviews
10.8 km away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#22 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatross Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatross Hostel

Address: 51 Grainger Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: $29 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Albatross Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, HostelWorld and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Albatross Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatross Backpacers In! Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing