We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
56
63
27
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
63
27
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbunk bedsfree tea coffeecommon roombig common areacity centretrain stationlounge arearooms are cleanlocation is greatother guestsfew minutes walkenjoyed my stayfantastic staydefinitely stay here againeasy accessthe great north runstayed here for one night
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Clean, nice rooms, equiped kitchen, comfortable beds, good bathroms and showers, good decoration, lounge with comfortable sofa and TV,...
tea, coffe,milk, toasts, butter free
No lockers but safety rooms with key card

Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank monicarB5116YJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albatross H, Manager at Albatross Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

Hello,

Thank you for the review. We are pleased you liked The Albatross and found everything in good order.

We are currently working with management to install lockers, or other forms of storage for guests within the rooms. We hope to have this completed in the near future.

All the best!

Jaimie and The Albatross Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Hostel was adequate in good location but rooms were bare minimum though clean but cold. Kitchen and lounge were good. The laundry was difficult to use and the instructions did not pertain to the 'new' machines

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fworthd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albatross H, Manager at Albatross Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

Hi,

Thank you for taking time to leave a review. We are currently going through a refurb here so the rooms are in the process of being upgraded. I will pass on your comments about the laundry to management and we will look at placing new signage to assist the guests.

Thanks,

Jaimie and The Albatross Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016

We always love going to Albatross Hostel . Very, very friendly staff. Clean ans spacious rooms. Situated in the centre and near the staition, so itis ideal for everything one wants to do.
Brilliant!!!
It was a schooltrip!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hHildegard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albatross H, Manager at Albatross Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2016

Hello,

Thanks for your kind words, we really appreciate the feedback! We are pleased you found the staff to be friendly and enjoyed your stay here.

We hope you had a safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you again, should you be returning to Newcastle.

Thanks

Jaimie and The Albatross Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Cheep and cheerful just what we needed! Good for a place to put your head down! Perfect location with pubs left right and centre with a Tesco and other shops and fast food places within walking distance. Defiantly say here again

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MattWilkinson95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albatross H, Manager at Albatross Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2016

Hi,

Thanks for your review, we really appreciate the feedback.

We are pleased to see you would stay here again, should you wish to book with us again, please contact our Reception team who will be happy to assist you.

Regards

Jaimie and The Albatross Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

For a night out in Newcastle I doubt there is a better place to stay in terms of location. Albatross Inn is literally round the corner from The Gate, Bigg Market and the club Tiger Tiger.
I booked through Booking.com and the staff where very quick to reply to my emails.
Rooms were spotless as where the shared toilets/showers located on the 2nd floor.
The hostel has a garden area, common room with tv and internet and full kitchen facilities but we did not use these. There is a basement area too but the table football seen on the website was not there and the pool table had no cues or balls.
Even with the central location there was no noise.
For cheap, basic digs this place is highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank Dennis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albatross H, Manager at Albatross Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2016

Hello,

Thank you for leaving a review regarding your recent stay. Many of our guests agree that our location is ideal for a night out / spending the day in the city shopping etc.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here and our staff replied promptly to your emails on booking.

I will pass on your comments regarding the table football to our Head Office and we will have the picture removed as we do not have this item any more, apologies for the oversight on that one. The cues and balls for the pool table are at Reception for our guests to use. I do appreciate that this was not noted so we have now placed a sign on the pool table to advise of this for other guests, thank you for pointing these things out, we appreciate all feedback.

Should you wish to re-book, please contact the Reception Team directly who will be happy to assist.

Jaimie and The Albatross Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews