We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simon cook”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“simon cook”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

A very well presented hotel a stones throw away from the city centre. Great customer service. Very clean spacious rooms. And as soon as you walk in you are faced with a very decent bar with a good wide selection of beers and wines especially. Had a very good night sleep for once without any noise. Deffo the place to go to if you want to relax. Good for families aswell.

Room Tip: rooms on the fifth floor have a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    463
    168
    53
    27
See reviews for
181
324
75
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

stayed for one night, most unremarkable.

cob webs on ceiling, dirty finger prints on wood work were disappointing as rest of the room was spotless.

close to lots of curry houses and the student area of the city.

TIP - if you are driving to this location, your sat navigation Will not find it - instead use akbars, new castle and when you get to akbars turn into the side road.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to find that you experienced housekeeping issues on your recent stay with us, this is not our usual standard.
I have addressed these issues with the housekeeping and maintenance teams to ensure that this does not re-occur and I would like to thank you for bringing this to my attention.
As guests often struggle with Sat Nav postcodes we have alternative postcodes listed on our website www.expressnewcastle.co.uk which will aid you with your directions

Thanks again for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Newcastle soon

Kind regards
Lorraine Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

A very well located hotel a short walk from the station, this place is ideal for a clean no frills stay. Instead of facing a reception area when you walk in, you face a bar, good to see they have their priorities right. Friendly helpful staff. (Well it is Geordie land). Reasonable brekkers but strangely no bacon. Be warned this place is popular for obvious reasons with footie fans and stag and hen dos so it's unlikely to be quiet and you may get woken in the night but drunken revelers although one loud group where quickly shut up by a manager. Quaint to see an old fashioned TV with just a handful of channels still in use in the bedroom, probably hanging on to it to take it across to the Discovery Museum over the road, that is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your comments regarding our friendly team members, we do pride ourselves on having a friendly team.

As for our TV’s please be assured that our company are in the process of providing our hotels with up to date flat screen TV’s which hopefully should be installed early 2013.

Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel sometime in the future

Kind regards
Lorraine Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night on a business trip.

Good location, function, clean and the breakfast buffet good.

The room was a bit "tired" and could do with a refurbish. Unusual to see a tubed television without freeview. But hay could be seen as retro.

All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welshtravellerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Reviewer

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us during your recent business trip and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit.

Our maintenance team have an on-going action plan to keep the rooms looking fresh and we try to replace some of the furnishings on a yearly basis or as and when needed and we will continue to audit the rooms regularly to keep on top of any issues

We look forward to welcoming you back here soon

Kind regards
Lorraine Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co durham
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Stayed here for just one night as my husband was taking our son to his first Newcastle match. It is ideally placed for the stadium and for the town centre. There is no parking at the hotel but you can park next to it in the multistorey car park. This is free from 5pm until 8am and you can also pay for the next day which means you don't have to get up early to go and put a ticket in your car.The room was small but had a double bed and double sofa bed for the children.The bathroom was nice and modern with a good shower. Breakfast was included which was very good.I would definately stay here again it was good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treacle5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Reviewer

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us on your recent visit to Newcastle with your family and we hope that you will visit us again soon.

It is very fortunate that the local authority who own the car park adjacent to the hotel keep it free after 5 in the evening, this does make a difference to our guests and also to shoppers coming into the city on a n evening.

We look forward to welcoming you back here soon

Kind regards
Lorraine Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 km away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,226 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,215 reviews
0.4 km away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,102 reviews
0.4 km away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,852 reviews
0.6 km away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Address: Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price range (per night): $85 - $250
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station, our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Start your day right at our Express Start buffet breakfast which is always included and enjoy a choice of both hot and continental items. Ask Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's friendly front desk staff for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city. Help yourself to tea and coffee during your business event in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centres 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Getting to meetings around Newcastle is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services from the station 300 metres away. Our convenient city-centre location, a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, makes us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's contemporary bar, open 24 hours, or catch up on email with our free Wi-Fi. Our helpful staff will be happy to order takeaway food for you to enjoy in the comfort of your modern guest room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing