We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic and free

Wonderful old building in the city, now a great museum. Full of history and wonderful galleries... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
RobScott1970
,
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Great day out

The discovery museum is a great day out for young and old. We went when Stephensons Rocket was... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Lindavel61
,
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Read all 1,535 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Newcastle upon Tyne
The Quayside
2 Reviews
from USD 20.70
More Info
from USD 9.10
More Info
from USD 90.70
More Info
from USD 32.40
More Info
Reviews (1,535)
Filter reviews
1,535 results
Traveller rating
926
462
110
24
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
926
462
110
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews science maze all ages water play free entry play tyne steam turbine water area change of clothes ship building rainy day local history interactive displays hands on activities few hours great for kids gift shop kids and adults
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,535 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I did not expect to find a museum like this in Newcastle. It is very interesting and alzo Amazing, se spent a day there.

Thank henya888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have visited with our children and granddaughters over many years it has evolved and changed over the years. Always something new to see and old favourites to revisit. A great reflection of the north east. From steam trains, to ship building, art, history and folk lour , games to play with the children, nice cafe to end the visit . Whats not to like. And its free.

Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The reason i gave it 3 out of 5 stars was because of the cafe in the museum.
My little boy wanted the kids cheesy pasta and garlic bread and when it came he tried it and said he was full which is not like him to say that.
I decided to try the cheesy pasta, and the sauce tasted horrible and it didn't taste cheesy. The garlic bread was cooked around the edges but the middle was soggy and not cooked.
The museum itself was good and it was free.

Thank Lotty44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a step back in history.
Lots of activities for children to enjoy.
Lots of of hands on things to do.
From the turbina boat to science department.
At the moment they are exhibition on the circus.
Disabled parking is limited.
Inside is disabled friendly and worth a visit.
Cafe has limited menu but children menu is good value for money.
Good day out and it's free.
Staff are helpful and friendly.

Thank dionnet280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited here with the family in August 2018 whilst staying in Hexham. We travelled quite a bit whilst up in the north east and we were really glad we stumbled across The Discovery Musem.

First off, parking is a bit of a nightmare; there is a small carpark right outside but having spoken to the guys in the musem it appears to fill up first thing in the morning. Luckily there is a large multi-storey carpark just across the road which is reasonably priced too.

There is so much to see and do here it's a bit mind boggling! There's some really interesting exhibits there such as the history of Tyneside which is fascinating and on the top floor there is science orientated exhibits.

There is also a café onsite which is both reasoably priced and well-stocked.

On the whole, if you're in there area with the family, this is well worth a visit.

Thank eighteentee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews