We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,009)
Filter reviews
3,009 results
Traveller rating
1,555
877
369
133
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,555
877
369
133
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviews millennium bridge bridge view corner suite afternoon tea mini bar sunday lunch cooked breakfast an upgrade superior room lovely hotel car park birthday treat a lovely stay hotel bar lovely room public areas bars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 3,009 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were looked after by Tirso for breakfast- he was attentive, hospitable and lovely. He helped us decide and checked on us lots to make sure we had everything we needed, including all the fresh coffee you could ask for. Best way to start the day!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Betty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Betty W,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your visit.

It is a pleasure to read your comments. It sounds like Tirso really made an impression during breakfast! I will certainly share your feedback with him.

We hope to welcome you back to Malmaison Newcastle soon.

Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for a treat with my fiance, we were welcomed by neil at reception in a friendly manner with a cheery smile. We booked our meal in the brasserie and were welcomed by adam in a friendly manner who showed to our table. Megan our waitress was warm and friendly and looked after us very well, service with a smile. Santa served us our food and we enjoyed his banter always smiling too. Food was delicious and compliments to the chef. Breakfast we were greeted by tirso with a friendly smile and tirso looked after us very well. Thankyou to rhys and aaron for beverages and food, again service with a smile. Checkout once again by neil first class service. Thankyou to malmaison for a great stay and for the friendly welcoming service.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank glitter7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear glitter7,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your visit.

Your comments are lovely to read. I am pleased that you and your fiancé enjoyed your night with us. I will be sure to share your kind feedback with all of our teams.

We hope to welcome you back to Malmaison Newcastle soon.

Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived at the Mal Maison on the Saturday, the day before The Great North Run. We knew instantly we’d chosen a great spot as the atmosphere outside was buzzing with the kids doing their runs and mums and dads cheering them on.
Dave checked us in with a happy friendly smile and a warm welcome! He was very helpful all weekend with transport advice for us to get around Newcastle.
Our room was lovely and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay.
We ate a deliciously yummy meal at the hotel that night and was served by Don, who was also very warm, friendly and chatty - the wine was divine!
The following morning we were served at breakfast by Rhys, who is an absolute credit to Mal Maison. What a lovely young man, he was so friendly with a wonderful, happy smile, someone who clearly loves and takes immense pride in his job. Rhys made us feel so comfortable and welcome, nothing was too much trouble. My sister and I told him how much we loved the home made granola, definitely the best we’ve ever tasted! To our great surprise Rhys went to ask the chef for the recipe!! We were even more thrilled when he gave us each a box to take home - thank you very much Rhys!!! We had a fabulous time at Mal Maison, all the staff were so genuinely friendly and welcoming..,,,we will definitely be back

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank ednapiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear ednapiggy,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your visit.

It is a pleasure to read your comments. It sounds like Dave, Don and Rhys really looked after you during your time with us. I will certainly share your feedback with our teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malmaison Newcastle soon.

Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went here with friends for my birthday afternoon tea. We had the deal with a glass of prosecco included. The selection of sweet and savory was fantastic, definitely recommend and will be returning. Our server was Don and he was so friendly and attentive which made the experience even more enjoyable. If I had to fault anything it would be the cost of the bottle of prosecco we ordered separately. I felt £39 for a bottle was very expensive in comparison to other places in Newcastle I've been. Overall the afternoon tea selections were good value for money.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Emma P,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your visit.

Your feedback is lovely to read. I will be sure to share your comments with Don and the rest of the teams.

We hope to welcome you back to Malmaison Newcastle soon.

Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came in for lunch and we were looked after by Shaun. We recieved excellent customer service from him and he was so genuine in conversation. Food was good but the whole experience was made better by the service. Will be returning!!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Ladylikesfood84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ladylikesfood84,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your visit.

It is lovely to read your comments. It sounds like Shaun really looked after you, I will be sure to share your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Malmaison Newcastle soon.

Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews