We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A really nice hotel; had a great stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jesmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jesmond Hotel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A really nice hotel; had a great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stayed here mid-June for a long weekend away and although the weather wasn't brilliant, the hotel was! Nice rooms, pleasant service and a great location. The breakfast was also very nice and certainly recommended! I would go back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jesmondhotel_newcast, General Manager at Jesmond Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you for your comments and support. We love to have you back soon.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    55
    32
    16
    18
See reviews for
21
47
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Moss, Ostfold, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Friendly staff, good food, ok rooms. It was a godd place to start the Hadrian Walk.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jesmondhotel_newcast, General Manager at Jesmond Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Thank you for your comments. We love to hear from you which helps us to improve where we need to. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed here in July 2012. Staff very friendly and enthusiastic. Room clean and modern,
Wifi can be used on the ground floor with excellent connectivity although would have preferred it in the room but had a weak signal, nevertheless, only a small hotel so I guess doesn't really concern much. Breakfast was great with a lot on the cooked breakfast plate.
Persian Restaurant in the hotel which serves very nice food at a very low prices.
Couldn't fault on anything on the room and excellent power shower in the morning!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abrishahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jesmondhotel_newcast, General Manager at Jesmond Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Thank you for your comments and concerns and hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed here to meet up with friends, the location is good with plenty of restaurants to choose from. the welcome was friendly, food was excellent, I would have given this five stars but was disappointed with my room. I was on the third floor with no lift so had to carry my luggage up four flights of stairs ( as I am a lady of a " certain age") I did not find this easy, my room was advertised as a double but was so small as it turned out to be an attic room and I could barely walk around the bed. The noise from the traffic which seemed to last all night was extremely noisy concequently I had very little sleep for the two nights I was there. I will say that my friends did have larger rooms, although they were also troubled with the noise from the traffic and surrounding pubs which were a " tour de force" for the local students.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pastygirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Jesmond Hotel was our launching point for our walk of the Hadrian's Wall Path, and it was a great base camp for our start. The hotel is located in an extremely nice part of Newcastle, with plenty of restaurants and pubs just a short walk. The West Jesmond metro stop is also a 5 minute walk, and central Newcastle was about 30 minutes by foot. Our room was extremely large, and the amenities and bathroom were very satisfactory. However, the staff and breakfast were only so-so, and wifi signal was pretty poor (I had to go to the lobby to catch a good signal).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dyrewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 km away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#23 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.4 km away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#12 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.1 km away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#53 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#14 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
0.4 km away
Jesmond Park Hotel
Jesmond Park Hotel
#52 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.1 km away
Kenilworth Hotel
Kenilworth Hotel
#67 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Hotel

Property: Jesmond Hotel
Address: 34 Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price range (per night): $83 - $203
Hotel Class:3 star — Jesmond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Jesmond Hotel, a small hotel near Newcastle Upon Tyne with a personal touch. Whether for business or pleasure, our central location with its welcoming and relaxed atmosphere is perfect for visitors to Newcastle & Gateshead as well as the wider region. We pride ourselves on excellent customer care, giving individual attention to all of our guests and ensuring a very high standard of service throughout the hotel. The Jesmond Hotel is a small private hotel with 15 rooms and a welcoming lounge bar. The hotel is situated in leafy Jesmond, with excellent transport links to nearby Newcastle city centre and within walking distance of the shops, bars and restaurants of this elegant suburb. The hotel is staffed 24 hours a day and our bar is open until midnight if guests require. Free parking is available on a first come first serve basis (Permits given on check-in) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Jesmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing