We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kenilworth Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
USD 80*
USD 75*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Station Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
USD 69*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
USD 63*
USD 59*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Staybridge Suites Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
USD 96*
USD 93*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Indigo Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
USD 99*
USD 80*
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Newcastle Airport(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
USD 70*
USD 66*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 86*
USD 78*
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
easyHotel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
USD 27*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
    USD 89*
    USD 78*
    Priceline
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    USD 91*
    USD 87*
    Priceline
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Reviews (207)
    Filter reviews
    207 results
    Traveller rating
    38
    54
    35
    27
    53
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    38
    54
    35
    27
    53
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsbar downstairscity centrestag dobed was comfortablefantastic hotelsaturday nightnightlife
    Filter
    Updating list...
    136 - 141 of 207 reviews
    Reviewed 9 October 2011

    Worst night's sleep for along time. Bed was clearly a joke and should have made its way to the tip years ago. Staff appeared indifferent. Guests need to use their own cell phone to ring reception to get anyone to open the door. I have concerns over security of the rooms and entrapment issues behind locked doors.
    Accommodation very tired, bar area rather sticky at breakfast time. Evidence of violence in one of the rooms? Has a DSS feel about it. Looks reasonable as a bar at night but would totally avoid it for accommodation. Owners need to take an honest self critical look at the business. Previous poor reviews may have embellished gripes interspersed within them, but the underlying trend of poor accommodation appears to be a strong theme.
    Customer advice? Strongly avoid.
    My business advice? Focus on the evening trade side of the business. The accommodation needs killing off or significant investment now as it is detremental to the business. Give a damn, spend a night in every room and ask youself "is it good enough for me?". If you think it's acceptable, think again. The investment in this business is more to do with care and attention to detail than pure finances. Train or hire suitable staff and consider their appearance. Change the name of the business as the reviews appear to show the current situation to be a basket case and more dished than the beds.

    • Stayed: October 2011
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank mrhoteladvisor
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    sarahhemy, Owner at Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2011

    DSS and violence in the rooms? Could this customer please provide evidence of this as we would be very interested to see it! The Kenilworth is a small. family run hotel and in 20 years of trading we haven't had either. The Fire Brigade and AA Inspector found no safety issues so not sure how the reviewer did.
    We are a 2 star, independent business with well trained staff and comfortable rooms. The hotel provides a good breakfast, free car parking and free Wi Fi all at competitive prices Thanks for the (anonymous) advice but it would mean more if it was constructive and not merely a rant.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 September 2011

    I can see why this place gets mixed reviews, and I think it has to be assessed in context. The rooms are a bit "tired", but I have stayed in a number of hotels on Osborne Road and generally they are all like this, no matter what they have spent on the facade.The windows did not shut very well, and it was a bit noisey, but this is Jesmond and the students are out there! The room was clean enough, and the bed was comfortable, but we were in an upper room under the roof so headroom in places was limited.The staff were friendly and helpful enough. Breakfast was OK. The room rate was reasonable, and we were there over The Great North Run weekend so it is probably fairly cheap at other times.
    If you want a modern good size room at modest price such as you might expect from a Premier Inn, I suspect this is not for you. If you want a room in this area at a reasonable price and not too worried about a slight "seediness", you'll probably find it alright.

    • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank 5KAG
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 August 2011

    just wanted to write this reveiw as there aren't many good ones on here for this hotel, and most of them are unjustifyed, a group of 18 of us stayed in this hotel 29 july 11-31 july 11 and had an excellent time. The staff are extremely friendly and can't do enough to help you, the food was superb as were the rooms, the bed was comfier than mine at home! hotel rooms and bar are clean and the location is excellent for town (worked out at £1.25 one way per person)

    Very relaxing place to hang out after a hard night on the town. If in newcastle again I would deffinatly stay there again!

    • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank stacey07
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 July 2011

    I come here regularly for business and think it is a brilliant little hotel. All staff extra friendly and also great location for Newcastle centre or the busy nightlife on Osborne Road. Brilliant value for money and will be sure to go back!!!

    • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank charl0tte_56
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 July 2011

    This was the perfect stay for my wife and I, and our 2 Siberian huskies. Out of a street full of hotels this one stands out through the incredible friendliness and service of the staff, their welcoming attitude towards our dogs, as well as the ambiance provided in the restaurant and bar. They provided free parking, free internet, complimentary breakfast and a multitude of information about the local area and events. We had the pleasure of staying in the honeymoon suite (even though it wasn't our honeymoon) where the four-poster bed allowed us a great night sleep. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this area.
    The hotel is also optimally located for people wishing to venture out into the city of Newcastle.

    • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank paxtonculpepper
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews