We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Kenilworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kenilworth Hotel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed on a Saturday. The room was quite big and clean. Bathroom was functional (although a toilet brush would have been nice). Breakfast in the morning was very good. Staff very friendly. We wouldn't recommend staying here if you're planning on going to bed before midnight though as there's a bar downstairs which is quite loud. All in all good value for money and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heleen_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    53
    31
    25
    47
See reviews for
26
52
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Worst night's sleep for along time. Bed was clearly a joke and should have made its way to the tip years ago. Staff appeared indifferent. Guests need to use their own cell phone to ring reception to get anyone to open the door. I have concerns over security of the rooms and entrapment issues behind locked doors.
Accommodation very tired, bar area rather sticky at breakfast time. Evidence of violence in one of the rooms? Has a DSS feel about it. Looks reasonable as a bar at night but would totally avoid it for accommodation. Owners need to take an honest self critical look at the business. Previous poor reviews may have embellished gripes interspersed within them, but the underlying trend of poor accommodation appears to be a strong theme.
Customer advice? Strongly avoid.
My business advice? Focus on the evening trade side of the business. The accommodation needs killing off or significant investment now as it is detremental to the business. Give a damn, spend a night in every room and ask youself "is it good enough for me?". If you think it's acceptable, think again. The investment in this business is more to do with care and attention to detail than pure finances. Train or hire suitable staff and consider their appearance. Change the name of the business as the reviews appear to show the current situation to be a basket case and more dished than the beds.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrhoteladvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahhemy, Owner at Kenilworth Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
DSS and violence in the rooms? Could this customer please provide evidence of this as we would be very interested to see it! The Kenilworth is a small. family run hotel and in 20 years of trading we haven't had either. The Fire Brigade and AA Inspector found no safety issues so not sure how the reviewer did.
We are a 2 star, independent business with well trained staff and comfortable rooms. The hotel provides a good breakfast, free car parking and free Wi Fi all at competitive prices Thanks for the (anonymous) advice but it would mean more if it was constructive and not merely a rant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

WIRRAL, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I can see why this place gets mixed reviews, and I think it has to be assessed in context. The rooms are a bit "tired", but I have stayed in a number of hotels on Osborne Road and generally they are all like this, no matter what they have spent on the facade.The windows did not shut very well, and it was a bit noisey, but this is Jesmond and the students are out there! The room was clean enough, and the bed was comfortable, but we were in an upper room under the roof so headroom in places was limited.The staff were friendly and helpful enough. Breakfast was OK. The room rate was reasonable, and we were there over The Great North Run weekend so it is probably fairly cheap at other times.
If you want a modern good size room at modest price such as you might expect from a Premier Inn, I suspect this is not for you. If you want a room in this area at a reasonable price and not too worried about a slight "seediness", you'll probably find it alright.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5KAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nuneaton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

just wanted to write this reveiw as there aren't many good ones on here for this hotel, and most of them are unjustifyed, a group of 18 of us stayed in this hotel 29 july 11-31 july 11 and had an excellent time. The staff are extremely friendly and can't do enough to help you, the food was superb as were the rooms, the bed was comfier than mine at home! hotel rooms and bar are clean and the location is excellent for town (worked out at £1.25 one way per person)

Very relaxing place to hang out after a hard night on the town. If in newcastle again I would deffinatly stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stacey07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I come here regularly for business and think it is a brilliant little hotel. All staff extra friendly and also great location for Newcastle centre or the busy nightlife on Osborne Road. Brilliant value for money and will be sure to go back!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charl0tte_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 km away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#49 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.3 km away
Jesmond Park Hotel
Jesmond Park Hotel
#52 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.5 km away
Best Western New Kent Hotel
Best Western New Kent Hotel
#51 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Kensington House Aparthotel
Kensington House Aparthotel
#3 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.8 km away
Rosebery Hotel Jesmond
Rosebery Hotel Jesmond
#19 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.3 km away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#10 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenilworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenilworth Hotel

Property: Kenilworth Hotel
Address: 44 Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price range (per night): $84 - $155
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenilworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Otel, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kenilworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenilworth Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing