We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (888)
Filter reviews
888 results
Traveller rating
349
340
129
39
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
349
340
129
39
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tgi fridays beans hi express sofa bed shopping trip the breakfast area free breakfast minute drive bus stop car park budget hotel self service yogurt reception staff comfortable room nice stay coffee machine
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 888 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

Great hotel next to metro centre

Staff are all excellent well trained an excellent example of how well trained staff should be !!!

Breakfast is well stocked up at all times

Rooms all clean with everything in them

Usual standard for an express hotel

Close to motorway for access

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank cah1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2018

Dear cah1000
Thank you for you lovely comments regarding your stay at the Hotel. I am please to see that you found the Hotel to be in a great location for your shopping and found the team at the Hotel excellent and a great examole of great staff.
I am also happy to see that you enjoyed our Express Start breakfast and you found the rooms to be clean with everything you need in them.
We hope you stay with us again on your next visit to the North East.
Kind Regards
Sharon Horrocks
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

Arrived the day of the Great North Fun Run, the hotel was very busy but we were quickly booked in with a full explanation of the facilities. The room was in the modern bare style but spotlessly clean and everything worked. Reception staff and the dining staff were friendly and helpful throughout and even when well booked the room was quiet.
Breakfast was included and is self service but the counters were kept stocked and the tables were cleared throughout the morning.
It is a 15 minute walk to the metro centre, where there are many restaurants, or you can bus or drive. Newcastle centre is also only 5-10 minutes drive.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Hi Mike l
Thank you for taking your time to leave such a fantastic review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. I've passed your kind comments onto the staff and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kind regards,
Adam Kirkpatrick
Guest Service Assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed as a family (2 adults, 2 teenagers) in a family room for 2 nights. Accommodation and food were great but the staff went above and beyond what we expected - they were outstanding! I was participating in the Great North Run and received a goody bag on arrival, courtesy of the hotel. The staff then organised taxis for anyone who wanted them for the morning of the race, there was a good luck message as we left in the morning and a congratulatory message on our return. They were all so friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. If you are thinking of staying in Newcastle you can't go wrong at this Holiday Inn Express.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Dear Stuart B, First of all Well done for participating in the Great North Run this year! Thank you for taking your time to leave such a lovely review about your experience and stay in our hotel, we are very happy you had a Great stay, Our staff do take pride in making our guests feel welcome and make sure you have the best stay possible.

We do hope to see you again in the nearby future.


Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

We booked here, as our usual accommodation’s accessible rooms were all fully booked and it is located on the same complex.
We visit the Newcastle/Gateshead area three or four times a year, always staying in the same location, due to the ease of being able to access various places without too much travelling.
I was a bit apprehensive as we had never stopped at a Holiday Inn before. The check-in was a really easy process was really easy, the reception staff were very helpful, explaining everything we needed to know.
I was surprised to hear that breakfast was included within the cost of our stay. The breakfast selection was really good - cereals, yoghurt, bread/toast, bread rolls, croissants, mini muffins, fruit as well as a hot choice of bacon, sausage, baked beans and scrambled egg with a choice of fruit juice, tea, fruit tea and coffee to drink. Breakfast was all self service, with very helpful staff on hand if you required assistance. I don’t like feeling rushed when eating out and we were certainly able to take our time without feeling as though we were taking too long or in the way.
The accessible room we are staying in was very clean upon arrival, really spacious and well planned, ideal for a wheelchair user. I was very pleasantly surprised by the facilities within the the room itself with an ironing board and iron included with the usual tea/coffee making facilities.
The reception area itself has an Ice dispenser, as someone who really enjoys plenty of ice in their soft drinks I was expecting the dispenser to run out of ice - I must have dispensed a large tumbler of ice on at least five occasions on each day of our stay so far.
Located next to the reception is a bar, where residents can get a drink 24 hrs per day, if needed. Food is also available day or night with light bites such as soup, loaded nachos, potato dippers to mains such as vegetarian chilli, tikka masala, pizza and burgers with a couple of desserts to choose from as well children also catered for, as they have their own designated menu.
We will stay here again on our next visit to the area, it’s the extra touches at no extra cost that have made our stay so wonderful.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Hi Karen,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such detailed, fantastic feedback following your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your time with us, especially our tasty breakfast and spacious bedrooms.

We do hope we get to welcome you back soon.

Thanks!

Lynsey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

Stayed here for two nights with breakfast, good sized room and bathroom hot water was available all day bedding and towels very clean and breakfast was very good would recommend. Good food places to eat around the hotel including a bar and grill.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lyndasue75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Dear Lyndasue,

Thank you for taking time out to review your recent stay. It is so great to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including the cleanliness of our rooms and our Express Start breakfast. Your comments will passed onto all relevant departments.
Thank you again

Kind regards

Andrew H. Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews