We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
173
64
13
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
64
13
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dressing room four poster continental breakfast shared bathroom the main house interesting place to stay metro centre floor boards yogurt twin room large shower relaxing stay tea coffee making facilities plenty of hot water beautiful hotel flat screen tv comfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Stayed just the one night , bedrooms were in annex but was given keys to all doors. Room as very nice and shared bathrooms ( 2 on first floor ) had excellent showers. Breakfast was restricted to only one hour and maybe a little early for some. the furnishings in the main house were quirky ( suit of armour!) but a great stay

Room Tip: ground floor for those with mobility probelms
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank simonhippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

This beautiful house and grounds is a great place to stay and unwind, only a few minutes from the Newcastle centre. The continental breakfast has a good selection, no restaurant, but only a short walk to find one.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Nice quiet location in a pleasant building & I was delighted to fall asleep to the sound of an owl hooting away! Big room with modern but period style 'blingy' gold furniture. The TV was a bit small for the room & was wonky with poor / untidy cable management - easy to fix! Wifi worked well.

Entrance is off the main road & a bit hidden but my Satnav announced it or I would have driven past it.

Shame no bath [I am a bath not shower devotee] despite the bathroom having plenty of room for one & no shelves in the shower so the bottles were stood on the floor - again easy to fix the latter!

Plenty of choice of cereal, biscuits and even flapjack [a bit strange for breakfast.] Nice fruit & toast. Another thing is its a cold only breakfast, not even soft boiled eggs, which would be a simple, easy and very nice addition to the ham & cheese [which are not to my personal taste at breakfast], not that I went hungry by a long chalk!

Would be happy to return.

Room Tip: Room 2 has shower but no bath.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Robert_B_London61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Stayed one night on way home. Booked in advance after checking hotel out on Google. The owner David made our stay very welcoming. We had room 4 which boasted a four poster bed and separate dressing room, also a huge bath and shower.
The furniture was period with a oriental theme. The place was very clean and the staff along with the owner were friendly and helpful.
My wife said she felt like Marie Antoinette in her dressing room. We were disappointed that because of the weather we didn't view the lovely gardens. Perhaps the next time.
If your looking for a modern hotel this is not the place for you.
Some negative comments mentioned the floor boards creaked. It is a very old house so expect that. Only a continental breakfast provided but a good selection was on offer. I knew this before I booked and was happy about that.
One other thing it was only ten minutes from the metro centre.

Room Tip: Room 4 was lovely and worth the extra few pounds, we had no road noise whatsoever.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank review11075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

We've just returned from a weekend away at this b&b , we stayed in room 5 (possibly the bridal suite) ,which had a 4 poster bed, its own dressing/pamper room & a very spacious bathroom with double bath, the whole room is decorated & furished beautifully & very clean throughout ,the hotel & the grounds are very well maintained & staff/owners are very friendly & welcoming,it's continental breakfast with plenty of choice of fresh fruits & cereals, I would advise anyone who wants a quiet stay away from the noise of town ( blaydon town only 5mins by car) this place is perfect , I will defiantly be booking to stay here again .

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews