We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book etc etc....”
Review of Bistro Forty Six

Bistro Forty Six
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 25 - USD 95
Cuisines: European, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A modern European bistro with an intimate atmosphere and friendly staff. We source local game, seafood and vegetables for our seasonal and changing menu. Tuesdays to Sundays all-time classics are served up alongside delicious daily specials. Lunchtime and early evening fixed price menus are complemented by a seasonal A la Carte. Sunday is dedicated to traditional roast dinners and Tuesday night is all about steak - Two dine for £27.95 with drinks.
Reviewed 21 September 2018

Went here as a group of six from Clevedon in middle of September. Thought that the premises lacked somewhat and didn't exactly fill us with confidence as it looked a bit 'naf' but the food and service was outstanding. Would highly recommend this place. Not cheap but not overly expensive either. By the time we left the place was humming and our table was booked for a second sitting. That must speak volumes.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank john R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

First visit but will definitely be back. Friendly and helpful, some dishes on the menu you don’t see every day. Food presented well and it was all delicious. Not cheap but not too expensive. I must say though for the quality it was good value for money. There is street parking right outside.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 321Wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

Bistro Forty Six hits all the right buttons for being intimate, welcoming and serving superb quality food. My choices were pigeon salad, venison stew, and apple crumble all of which were superbly cooked and presented.
Easily accessible by Metro two minute walk.
We were a party of six who all enjoyed the experience and will definitely return if we visit Newcastle again

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Beverley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

Visited last night. Food was sublime, I opted for the pigeon to start followed by venison, while my sister opted for the mackerel followed by retired dairy cow sirloin steak. The cook on the meats was exactly as it should be. We had bought a voucher from 'itison' and expected to be presented with an inferior 'voucher menu', this was certainly not the cast here. The service was attentive without being intrusive. The pinot grigio was icy cold and very tasty. Literally 2 mins from West Jesmond metro. We will definately be back. Thanks to all of the team

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank xxpigsgalorexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

Had a fantastic meal here off the a la carte menu. Cooking is really very good, my ravioli and retired dairy cow were outstanding. Bit disconcerted when. I walked in, by plywood tables and cheap chairs, and unlaid tables. If they did something with the decor this would be an amazing place. Definitely return for the food. Wine competitively priced, not the nicest negroni I've had but it hit the spot.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank CLB1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro Forty Six also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Bistro Forty Six? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing