We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Family Holiday!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Box of Delights

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Narrowboat -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Guildford, Surrey, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jr0gers24
Surrey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic Family Holiday!”
Reviewed 25 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We hired both of Julie's beautiful narrow boats (box of delights and stepping stones). There was 9 of us in total. We had an AMAZING time. We were showed how to do the first lock and then left to meander along the river. None of us had done this before but we picked it up quickly. We visited the Anchor pub (where we moored up for the first night) The Pelican, Addlestone and The New Inn, Send. All very welcoming. We reached the River Thames and went around the island and journeyed back to Guildford. It was so relaxing! The boats were very clean and had all the amenities we needed. Thank you again for such a memorable experience! Highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2017
Thank you very much for your review, it was nice to meet your lovely family. We are so pleased you had a great time and that the weather showcased the River Wey at it's best. Julie and Ray.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Mar 2017
It's great to know that you enjoyed your weekend and we were so pleased the weather was good. Thank you for your comments and for recommending us, hope to see you again, Julie and Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Oct 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your comments are much appreciated and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your weekend. Best regards, Julie and Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Susan S
Haslemere, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely weekend away”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Box of Delights is a great boat, it is lovely inside, very well appointed and really comfortable. We had a great weekend on the Wey, even enjoying a day of horrible weather! The extra touches left by the owners, a tray of tea things with biscuits, and ground coffee by the coffee machine, were really appreciated. We would certainly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your weekend on Box of Delights. We try and provide items that we would like to receive and its great to know that they are appreciated. Thank you for your review, Julie and Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
“For sure....the boat was a real box of delights....and the owners are wonderful.”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We really enjoyed our holiday on the "Box of Delights" and the friendly service from its owners who take great pride in providing all the luxuries and little extras which make you feel like you are merely borrowing the boat from some friends. The boat is fully equipped and with excellent central heating that made an early season boating holiday very pleasant.

We liked that it was an inclusive price, so no hidden extras at all; and car parking was right by the boat mooring.

The only extra thing we would have liked to enjoy would have been some warm sunny weather for the week, but we can't expect the owners to provide that!

We thoroughly recommend this small independent company (for its excellent standards and friendly service) to everyone contemplating taking a narrow boat holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2016
Thank you for your comments, we are very proud of our boats and its great to know our guests appreciate our efforts! Look forward to seeing you again, Julie and Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing