We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel nice, but awful staff and overpriced drinks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Guildford
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Guildford
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Hotel nice, but awful staff and overpriced drinks”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

There are not many hotels in central guildford and we needed to stay in the area for an engagement party and chose here as there was a great deal through Superbreak including first night dinner and breakfast. We caught a bus into Guildford from the Tesco at the end of the road which was convenient and got a taxi home which cost £10. The spa was nice and quite quiet and dinner was excellent (3 courses were included in the price of our stay) and they were all nice enough. The evening was slightly spoiled by the extortionate price of drinks in the bar. We each had a single rum and coke after dinner and were charged over £11- what a joke!! This left a really sour taste in our mouths and we went to bed early as we certainly weren't willing to pay prices like that and be ripped off all evening!
Room was as you'd expect in a holiday inn- clean and to a nice standard and had everything we needed. Unfortunately the heating had been set to default to 24 degrees and meant we both woke up in the night absolutely sweltering! We turned the a/c on which seemed crazy in late Septemer, but we wouldn't have been able to sleep otherwise!
The restaurant staff at dinner time were absolutely lovely, however come the morning it was a completely different story. On both mornings we turned up for breakfast and found the staff extremely rude and unhelpful. Tables were filty with dirty plates and cutlery and when we were eventually seated we were told someone would take our order for tea and coffee- we waited 10 minutes before trying to attract the attention of the waitress - she muttered something under her breath before turning her back on us and not returning. We asked someone else who begrudginly got us some coffee. It had clearly been in the pot for hours and tasted disgusting. The same thing happened the second morning, with nobody to take our order for hot drinks. The milk on our table had a hair in it. We asked for a fresh jug and she looked like we had asked her to milk a cow not swap the milk! Luckily the food itself was really nice!

If it hadn't been for the staff at breakfast and the drinks prices we would have rated this place much higher.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Guildford, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay at the hotel. I certainly value guest feedback as it helps us to review and improve where necessary the facilities and services that we offer. I must apologise for the poor service you received at breakfast but am pleased to hear you enjoyed the rest of your stay. I have noted your comments regarding our bar prices and I will review the current tarrif. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Jane Standing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    279
    147
    30
    19
See reviews for
174
146
33
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Stayed one night here on business.
Rooms ok. Bed comfortable.
Ate at the restaurant since i got there late. Ordered burger which was ok but was missing the burger meat in the middle!!! The staff were apologetic and brought the burger to fit into the bun and the condiments!!!! Tasted nice though.
Breakfast was standard holiday inn affair. Both continental and cooked options available. Service was a bit slow but nothing to complain about.
Overall fine stay.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms away from the reception- much more quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dselvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Guildford, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review regarding your recent stay with us, your feedback is much appreciated. I must sincerely apologise that the burger came without the meat, this shouldn't have happened and I have since spoken with the Head Chef regarding your comments. We do hope to welocme you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards
Jane Standing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Stayed here for one night and enjoyed it. Got off to a bit of bad start - we were given our room key on arrival and after walking quite a long way carrying our luggage we found the room that they had given us hadn't been cleaned and there were still things left from the previous guests left in the room. After going all the way back to reception they did upgrade us to an executive suite and this was very nice.
Breakfast was good and we had a meal in the evening which was also good.
The only downside to this hotel I thought was the cost of connecting to the internet which was very expensive as was the film packages.
Staff was friendly. The hotel had some strange rules with regards to payments for drinks etc. You could authorise your room card to allow you to charge items to your room but every time you reached £25 you had to go and have it reauthorised. Also when a member of our party went to pay cash for a round of drinks about 11 p.m. was told he couldn't pay cash as the till had been taken away.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meinir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Guildford, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Thank you for your recent review. We are always looking at ways to improve the facilities and services that we offer and your comments help us to do that. I must apologise for the error in room allocation but pleased to hear you enjoyed the remainder of your stay. We don't take cash in the bar after 11pm, we only charge to bedroom accounts. This helps us to ensure we are compliant with the licensing laws in that only residents can purchase drinks after 11pm. Having to get authorisation after every £25 spent is not correct so thank you for highlighting.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Jane Standing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
expat The Hague
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Pleasant staff, good facilities. Good location if you have transport, just off the A3 by the Royal Surrey Hospital and close to Surrey Uni.

Lack of timeliness in service both in bar and restaurant in the evening due popularity for wedding parties on weekends.

The most expensive internet/TV package I have ever come across.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippians4-6_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Guildford, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to write a review, it is greatly appreciated. Customer reviews really help us to improve the facilities and the levels of service that we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel some time in the future.

Kind Regards
Jane Standing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions on business, i usually stay in the executive room, which had two double beds a sofa and a writing desk and was very specious. The bathroom was very spacious, overall the room was very comfortable and clean.

The breakfast is really pleasant with a wide variety on offer, the usual continental or a full cooked breakfast "help yourself style"

The hotel is in a great location which is located just of the A3 and is a convenient place to stay if staying in Guildford.

Overall a very comfortable & clean place to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamLister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Guildford, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Many thanks for your recent review. I was delighted to learn that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards
Jane Standing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guildford hotels
2.5 km away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#6 of 11 in Guildford
1,865 reviews
1.1 km away
Asperion
Asperion
#1 of 11 in Guildford
570 reviews
2.6 km away
Premier Inn Guildford North (A3) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
2.0 km away
Angel Posting House and Livery
4.5 km away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Asperion Hillside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Worplesdon
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Guildford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Guildford

Property: Holiday Inn Guildford
Address: Egerton Road, Guildford GU2 7XZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Guildford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Guildford
Price range (per night): $128 - $311
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Guildford 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Holiday Inn Guildford, a modern full-service hotel, close to Guildford Town Centre and only 29 miles from London with easy access via the M25/ A3 and by train. The hotel is located near the Guildford Business Parks & FIVE Exhibition Centre . The hotel offers 168 air conditioned bedrooms including accessible (4) & family rooms. The hotel has high speed internet access available throughout and WIFI in the public areas. Stay at the Holiday Inn Guildford hotel & enjoy breakfast, lunch & dinner in the Restaurant or have a 'light bite' in our Bar/Lounge. Kids eat, Stay free!* Holiday Inn Guildford is a Legoland hotel , and also close to other local attractions such as Chessington World of Adventures, Thorpe Park & Wisley Gardens. The Academy Conference Centre at the hotel is a leading Meetings venue in Guildford offering superb meeting rooms accommodating up to 180 delegates with extensive on-site car parking available. The hotel is also a premier Wedding venue in Guildford, Surrey. 'Spirit' at Holiday Inn Guildford is an excellent fully equipped health club with an indoor swimming pool, fitness studio and gym with a wide range of Beauty treatments available. *Terms & Conditions apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, IHG, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Guildford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Guildford Hotel Guildford
Guildford Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Guildford England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing