We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
34
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews black swans tea and cake suffolk countryside coach house large pond fresh fruit on arrival peace and quiet marmalade short drive lovely grounds places to visit full english peacocks sue bedroom england
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2017

A beautiful setting, gorgeous old Victorian rectory in 10 acres, with a lake, black swans, peacocks, hens, and sheep. Very comfortable room, and a wonderful sense of peace about the place. Sue Bagnall is an excellent proprietor, made us feel very welcome - and she serve big breakfasts of what you want. Heartily recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

As well as the privacy of the setting, down a medium-long drive, beside a large pond, surrounded by lovely grounds, the house has a peaceful atmosphere, lots of space, large rooms and a very traditional feel, whilst all the fittings and plumbing are modern, efficient and comfortable. The hostess, Sue, is kind, welcoming and clear in her explanation of how the house works. Her black dog and cat are delightful and the peacocks outside are stunning, if occasionally strident! The breakfast is beautifully cooked and includes fresh fruit and yoghurt as well as the full English works and toast, home-made marmalade and fresh orange juice and coffee. I think the rural area makes super fast broadband difficult to achieve, so don't expect to be able to stream video. Nothing else left to be desired!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2015 via mobile

This is our second time to Abbey House and it won't be our last! Beautiful old house with the most comfortable bed ever! The grounds are stunning and the peacocks add an exotic touch. Sue is a charming and welcoming hostess. Really lovely place in which to relax and unwind.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2015

We picked this as Sue let us check in early so we could get ready for a wedding we were attending close by. On arrival she welcomed us with freshly brewed coffee. The house & gardens are lovely. Breakfast was served at a mutely agreed time. There was plenty to eat & a good choice.
Looking forward to staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 191wizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2015

We spent 3 delightful days in this peaceful and tranquil retreat. It was our second visit and it was just as lovely. Sue is he perfect hostess and the house and gardens are beautiful. Breakfasts were wonderful and plentiful and she went out of her way to satisfy us. we will be going again!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MerlieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews