We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
48
42
39
19
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
42
39
19
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews function room high street sunday roast pit stop business trip the free shuttle bus table service served quickly nice room race course one night stay
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Very friendly staff we had the Sunday roast and desert the price was reasonable.
they had a children’s menu as well .had to pay for parking but it was taken off our bill £2 for 2 hrs , which is fine for high street pub.
Only grumble floor service could of been a bit quicker. But will return when coming back this way.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank rachel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White_Hart134, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thank you for your response we are glad you enjoyed our roast dinners and hope you come back to sample the rest of our menu in the near future .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

Plus..... Lucy on reception in fact everywhere!
Good good with nice unadulterated menu.
Parking free!
Breakfast very good
Good bath and shower.
Now we move on..... Room 1 clean, comfy and warm very warm even with fan! Could open windows but didn’t as we were over the very loud extractor fans!!! I don’t usually whinge but........
Newmarket seems lovely we were only there for one night. Walk up around the numerous race courses lovely views.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank DEXBEXNKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White_Hart134, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thank you for your positive review , I will pass on those positive comments to the team and we hope you come to visit us again in the near future , plus we will pass on your comments to our head office about the extractor .
We wish you all best for the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018

The on site parking was free and sufficient, the chaps on reception were very nice and the location was top notch. I enjoyed the meal in the bar...it was ok - then it went down hill and just kept gathering speed.
Our room - we had the fire escape outside the room so our windows could not be opened except for a tiny one in the bathroom - although we had a small fan we suffered with stifling heat all night. The loud live music was expected - going on till 1am was not explained until arrival. Breakfast bar was abysmal. Cereal was the choice of Cornflakes or Special K. One last pot of yogurt and the choice of a couple of apples. When getting tea the urn was empty and the last of the milk coming from the dispenser blobbed out like yogurt. The staff just said oh it must be empty and went and got us tea from behind the bar. The urn was left empty and the milk dispenser uncleaned and unfilled. Cooked breakfast was offered (there was no menu description of what would arrive) one rasher of bacon one chipolata one egg one dollop of beans and one slice of toast with two little wrapped butters arrived - NO RESEMBLANCE TO THE PICTURE ON THE WEBSITE!!. All was most disappointing.
We will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: If you must stay then make sure it is away from fire escape/extractor fans/traffic/music...
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Geraldine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White_Hart134, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

We are sorry that you feel your stay was not sufficient , and will pass on the comments you have made to the team and hope fully we can remedy some of the issues that went wrong .
We would also say that if we had known that your stay was not acceptable on day we could of tried to remedy those issues at the time .
We wish you all the best for the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

Came here while on Business trip and looked liked a smarter place for a drink and something to eat.
Not that busy , one bar staff on doing cocktails, fair enough so just waited , barman could see me waiting but didn't say anything. 2 other staff members appeared other side of bar and just chatted to each other , surely one would serve me but no. Another customer walked up to the bar , and one of those 2 staff just served him straight away ignoring me and my patient waiting at the bar.
Fed up I walked out wondering how Marstons could tolerate having Muppets run this place.
Never again

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Thank theposh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed here one night as a pit stop before travelling onwards. Nice room, small but perfectly sized. Lovely bathroom, clean and well stocked. Comfortable beds and bedroom lovely and warm. Breakfast included was nice and coffee was lovely. There was a live band playing in the pub below which was loud in our room but we were pre warned so we didn’t mind, they were good and we would have gone down to see them but tired after travelling. Staff were very friendly and location is right on the high street with easy access to loads of restaurants and shops.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kaylee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews