We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value room on a quiet weekend”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Long Melford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Booked into the Crown to overnight after a party at a friends house. The room (in the main building) had everything we needed for one night, and was clean.

But for the Crown to get to the next level they will need to do some work on the amenities.

Breakfast was included and the service was good, food quality good

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for The Crown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 136 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2010

My family and I stayed at The Crown Hotel in September. I was aware that all double rooms were charged at £80 p/n but I did not expect that the rooms would differ so much. We stayed in the outhouse building (room 12) downstairs and the room was extremely small and noisy as the air con unit for the cellar is right outside! I advise NOT having these rooms, most definitely not for £80 p/n!

As my family occupied the majority of the hotel I was able to see the other rooms. The rooms upstairs in the outhouse just did not compare; they were like suites; so much nicer and far more spacious.

If you stay at The Crown, ask to see your room first and ensure it is to your satisfaction and you're willing to pay £80p/n.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ams_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

Not good value for £80 as the room was small & smelt of damp with physically damp walls. I would expect much better for the money in Suffok.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank LondonMink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Stayed for a night when attending a wedding nearby. I was in one of the modern rooms in the former coach house. The room was very plain/average and a bit disappointing for £80. It is big but like a spare room in someone's house rather than a hotel room. There was a blind instead of curtains so it was very bright in the morning. The bathroom door is inclined to stick so had to be opened with a hefty shoulder charge. The water pressure in the shower was terrible, I'm potty training my son at the moment and the dribble that came out reminded me of his efforts. The full English breakfast was good. Staff are polite but functional rather than friendly. I think if you need somewhere to crash for a night then it does the job but I wouldn't go out of my way to stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorkLanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Top quality Old English pub restaurant. Wide range of well cooked food, roast partridge to roast beef plus fish and veggie. Recommend you book because it can be busy

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnandCarolineUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Melford
0.2 km away
The Bull
The Bull
#2 of 3 in Long Melford
529 reviews
6.3 km away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
4.4 km away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Long Melford
438 reviews
22.0 km away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,024 reviews
18.5 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Long Melford

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: Hall Street, Long Melford, Babergh District CO10 9JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Long Melford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Long Melford
Price Range: $134 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Crown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Crown Hotel and Restaraunt. We are a family run business in the centre of the beautiful historic village of Long Melford. It is known for its charm and character, stately homes, stunning church also a fantastic choice of shops from antiques to boutique shops which has offers for all keen shopper. Our selves at The Crown being the last remaining free house in the village we provide an exstenive range of wines, real ales and hand pull cider, with home cooked meals available from the bar or restaraunt menu. If you want to just stop off for a drink and a light meal or have a family gathering we can accommodate both in our cosy bar and restaraunt. If your looking to make your stay a little longer we have 12 en-suite rooms that have just been refurbished which look out of this world. If you are a couple looking for a relaxing weekend break away or business person looking for a one night stop this is the place to be. Our door is always open where a warm welcome awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Long Melford, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing