We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee and Homemade Cakes!”

Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 5 Coffee & Tea in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 7 - USD 24
Description: A timber framed, 16th century cottage which has been converted by the owner to a traditional tea rooms. Get taken back in time with original family photos on the walls, Glenn Miller being played on the gramophone, bone china cups & saucers and a proper tea pot with tea cosy! Situated on the Market Square overlooking the magnificent Guildhall in the heart of the medieval village of Lavenham a warm welcome and a relaxed ambience is guaranteed. Freshly prepared ploughmans, doorstep sandwiches & light lunches using locally sourced produce, bread supplied by the bakers two doors away! Homemade cakes, scones & cupcakes. Traditional Afternoon Tea is a delight! We also offer a courtyard garden which is a real sun trap. Dogs & well behaved owners are welcome!
Restaurant details
Description: A timber framed, 16th century cottage which has been converted by the owner to a traditional tea rooms. Get taken back in time with original family photos on the walls, Glenn Miller being played on the gramophone, bone china cups & saucers and a proper tea pot with tea cosy! Situated on the Market Square overlooking the magnificent Guildhall in the heart of the medieval village of Lavenham a warm welcome and a relaxed ambience is guaranteed. Freshly prepared ploughmans, doorstep sandwiches & light lunches using locally sourced produce, bread supplied by the bakers two doors away! Homemade cakes, scones & cupcakes. Traditional Afternoon Tea is a delight! We also offer a courtyard garden which is a real sun trap. Dogs & well behaved owners are welcome!
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Popped in for a quick coffee and tea and found a seat in the small garden at the rear. Coffee in a cafetiere was excellent, according to my wife; I had the standard tea but couldn't resist the homemade cakes and scones. Decided on the coffee and walnut cake which was really lovely, resisted another piece though!
Just a short visit, but a nice place to stop off whilst visiting Lavenham.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank malcolmsteele7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Owner at Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear malcolmsteele7
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent visit to Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms, I am delighted you and your wife enjoyed the coffee & cake!
I hope to welcome you both back soon.
Best wishes
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 154 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I popped in here on a boiling hot day. We sat in the small but lovely garden and had lemon sorbet with strawberries. The staff were friendly and it was a delightful experience. Very peaceful and relaxing. We only had sorbet but the menu for lunch and tea looked varied and I would definitely have come back for lunch if we had more time.

Thank clobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Owner at Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear clobster
Thank you for takng the time to share your review of your recent visit to Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms. The day you both visited was indeed very hot - Im sure the lemon sorbet & strawberries must have hit the spot!
Best wishes
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We stopped here to refuel on a hot Sunday lunchtime & had a lovely lunch & a pot of tea to wash it down.
We sat in the little courtyard out back and were given friendly service.
Prices were very reasonable too.

Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Owner at Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear Deborah S
Thanks so much for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your 'pit stop' at Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms and hope to wlecome you back soon.
Best wishes
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

My friend Martin and I stopped at Blue Vintage Tea Room while on a brief visit to Sudbury. We sat outdoors in the back under an umbrella and the coffee was great! The scones were very yummy as well as the lemon cake with sorbet afterwards. The yellow bells on the table were eye catching. We would definitely choose this tea room again when next we are in that area. Wishing you continued success in your business. It was nice to chat with Amanda and her mother. All the best. Cheryl from Florida

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cherylbajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Owner at Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2016

Dear Cheryl
Thanks so much for sharing your review of your recent visit. It was a pleasure to meet you both. I recall from our conversation that you have worked within the hospitality industry and I am so pleased Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms hit the spot!
Thank you once again,
Best wishes
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

The tearoom is very well laid out and we had a table in the window overlooking the Guildhall. Sandwiches were freshly made and very filling but we had to find room for the wonderful cakes. We recommend the coffee and walnut cake and the chocolate brownie. We were made to feel very welcome and what a luxury to ring the little bell on the table to have the teapot refreshed.
So many places these days are too much for the tourist but this tearoom has charm and comfort without being artificial. We will visit again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, Owner at Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2016

Dear Sue M
I am so pleased you enjoyed your recent visit to Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms, thank you for sharing your review.
We are so lucky to have the wonderful view of the Guildhall - even though I have lived here for 12 years it has never lost the magic! The homemade cakes are very popular, you made 2 very good choices!
Thanks once again for your great comments, much appreciated.
Best wishes
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms also viewed

Lavenham, Babergh District
Long Melford, Babergh District
 
Lavenham, Babergh District
Lavenham, Babergh District
 

Been to Lavenham Blue Vintage Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing