We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family meal”
Review of The Tollgate

The Tollgate
Ranked #84 of 226 Restaurants in Bury St Edmunds
Price range: USD 5 - USD 20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Traditional Freshly cooked food served with a rustic charm in a modern but relaxed atmosphere.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We visited with our two grandsons there was a varied selection good food and service, we all enjoyed our meals good value for money.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena S, Manager at The Tollgate, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thanks for your review and i do hope we see you again peter s

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

We visited the pub on the spur of the moment. Really impressed. Food was lovely, piping hot and well presented. Will definitely be going again

Thank Jason E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena S, Manager at The Tollgate, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thank you Jason E for a lovely review this put a smile on my face this morning hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

What a great pub, the great staff were friendly and put my pre job interview nerves at easy. (With coffee and cake)
Would definitely recommend and will be back very soon.
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena S, Manager at The Tollgate, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thanks hope you got the job and hope to see you soon x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Four of us visited pub today for lunch ordered meal informed one was sold out?when the meals arrived was was wrong,other meals eggs were fried solid,and gammons were very chewy .only two deserts were ordered,informed they had sold out of one of them.what a complete let down
Will not be rushing back.

Thank _david2carter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena S, Manager at The Tollgate, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

So sorry to hear this I was not made aware of this on the day as I would have been more than happy to sort this out for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

Very nice pub. Food was supurb and plenty of it couldnt have asked for better service. Nice friendly pub will definately be going here again when we stay at the best western.

Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena S, Manager at The Tollgate, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Thank you Michelle hope to see you soon next time your in bury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tollgate also viewed

Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Fornham St Martin, Bury St Edmunds
 
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Great Whelnetham, Bury St Edmunds
 

Been to The Tollgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing