We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue, never disappoints”
Review of The Apex

The Apex
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Award winning live music & entertainment venue in Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk. From classical to jazz, folk to pop/rock, comedy, family entertainment & more! The Apex also hosts a stunning art gallery with frequently changing exhibitions, plus a cafe!
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

This is an excellent venue for any show or performance you book to see. I have seen Mowtown and The Kinks and am booked to see Pam Ayers in October
It is spacious and light and always clean. Whichever seats you choose you will always be able to see. The bar is upstairs but there is a lift if you should need one. My only criticism is you are not allowed to take drinks into the seating area in glass so there is a huge use of single use plastic!
The excellent cafe is open for cakes and hot drinks and you are awesome to buy sweet snacks should you wish to enjoy them. I would never hesitate to recommend this as a venue to enjoy

Thank Lindaadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C, Director of Sales at The Apex, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hello,

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments about The Apex. We are so pleased to hear that you are a fan of The Apex and enjoy the performances you come to see here.

Unfortunately we’re unable to allow glass into the auditorium for health and safety reasons, however, we are also concerned about use of single plastic and are looking at a number of options that include better quality plastic glasses that can be reused and also greater recycling.

We look forward to seeing you again for Pam Ayres, if not before!

All the best,
The Apex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great acts"
in 6 reviews
"lower balcony"
in 5 reviews
"brilliant venue"
in 6 reviews
"modern theatre"
in 4 reviews
"park close"
in 3 reviews
"coffee bar"
in 3 reviews
"sound quality"
in 6 reviews
"excellent acoustics"
in 3 reviews
"comfortable seats"
in 9 reviews
"intimate atmosphere"
in 3 reviews
"plenty of leg room"
in 5 reviews
"seating area"
in 6 reviews
"pre show"
in 4 reviews
"plenty of space"
in 5 reviews
"front of house"
in 3 reviews
"sandwich"
in 3 reviews
"cakes"
in 3 reviews
Filter

29 - 33 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2018

Have been visiting Bury for years, including the ancient Theatre Royal, but have never attended anything at this super modern venue before. It is lovely, just under 10 years old and can be configured to meet different needs. I attended a gig by an old 1960s pop star and it was seated nicely, holding 500 people. Seats were superb, catering is unambitious but really nice and you can order food in advance, to be ready for you before a performance. A coffee bar downstairs is good, scones and brownies, that sort of thing. Staff are all lovely and helpful. A really pleasant surprise.

Thank F1523XKdavidc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C, Director of Sales at The Apex, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Hello there,

Thank you very much for your review.

We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to The Apex and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

The Apex is a modern, newly built intermate venue. We sat in the lower balcony, seats A48 to A51 and had a comfortable and excellent view. Not sure about the seats situated on the sides of the balcony as they were single seats behind each other. Good facilities and friendly helpful staff. Would definately see another event at this venue.

Thank tas98bb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

Feb.04 2018 fantastic night out with Roy obison and friends will be there again wonderful band good mixture of songs,a great theatre the apex

Thank bazjoiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C, Director of Sales at The Apex, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you for your review and comments, we're really pleased to hear you enjoyed the gig!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Theatre very impressive building, facilities were second to none. Plenty of space in the foyer for a pre-theatre drink. The show itself was really good - Simon & Garfunkel Story. We were at the back of the upper balcony and the view was exceptional. Will be back there again.

Thank frequentflyersuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C, Director of Sales at The Apex, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you very much for your review and comments about The Apex. We're really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Apex also viewed

 

Been to The Apex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing