We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect....you'll feel very spoilt.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
South Coast, England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect....you'll feel very spoilt.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

My parents stayed at Drinkstone Park not too long after it opened and were so impressed with it, they treated my husband and I to a 3 day short break for our joint 30th birthday present, and I have to say we were in no way disappointed.
We stayed in the Red Room which is very comfortable with a large double bed and a sofa. It comes with every amenity you could ask for, for example tea and coffee making facilities with fresh milk and biscuits each day, a flatscreen tv, a large closet with hairdryer and fluffy bathrobes and lovely little touches like wine glasses and a corkscrew and your own fully stocked bookcase. The adjacent guest lounge has very large comfy sofas and a beautiful log fire which, you will find, one of the owners Michael or Christine will light for you whenever you arrive back to the B&B, after which you are served with tea or coffee and, when we visited, a delicious homemade scone with jam and clotted cream. Michael is very happy to suggest good places to eat locally and will even arrange transport should you need it (thank you for your help on Valentine's Day Michael x).
The breakfasts are delicious and we were told we could have it at any time we wanted. You help yourself to cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt and juices with toast and spreads including yummy homemade lemon curd and marmalade, and then you have a choice of dishes which are cooked to order by Christine, such as a full English, pancakes with maple syrup and scrambled eggs with smoked salmon.

We would like to thank Michael and Christine for a lovely stay in your lovely home in which we never felt unwelcome. In fact we felt thoroughly spoilt.
We hope to be back, in the summer next time when more local attractions will be open, we can take advantage of the patio that comes with the Red Room and your fish pond will hopefully be finished!. We really look forward to it.

Room Tip: The Red Room is the largest double and is very well equipped and comfortable with it's own priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Groves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
I don't know what to say! How can I respond to such a perfect review? Seriously we were delighted to have you stay with us and so pleased you enjoyed it so much.
I will do my best to get the pond completed before your visit in the summer, in fact it is nearly done it's the waterfall that will take a bit of time I think.
We both look forward to seeing you again. Thank you again for reviewing us.

Best wishes

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
67
292
44
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Arrived and were greeted to a very warm welcome from the hosts (and the cats!), shown into the lounge where a crackling log fire and cream tea waited for us. Michael helped us carry our bags to the rooms which were cosy and warm and done to a high standard. Breakfast was amazing, nice lot of food, excellent home made ingredients including Christines homemade bread and marmalade. It was a home from home, relaxing and enjoyable. Will DEFINATLEY be a regular and will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms have stunning views, warm and cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeHaveEars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
What more could we ask? So pleased that you found relaxation here and felt at home. Yes I can see you are coming again and we look forward to having you here, I will even carry your bags again!
We will see you soon in the meantime take care of yourselves and save a space for another cream tea.

Best wishes

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

This is one of the lovliest B&B's i have ever stayed in. Michael and Christine are the perfect hosts who welcome you into their home as if you were friends and you are greeted with accomadation of the highest standards.
The bedroom i stayed in was comfortable, extremely pretty and the attention to detail was perfect, all that i would expect from a high star hotel. You were treated to chocolates on the pillow, a wide selction of beverages to meet all tastes and even a dressing gown hanging in the very spacious wardrobes.
We even had a flask of warm milk waiting for us when we returned from our evening meal from the local village and pub.
All food is home produced and there is an exellent breakfast choice with daily specials, again cooked to your liking. All jams, bread etc are home made and the egss come from the wandering chickens (outside i hastily add!!).
The house is surrounded by beautiful gardens which i long to see in the summer, which gives me a perfect excuse to go back to Drinwater Park in the not too distsnt future.

Room Tip: I travelled with a colleague who had an equally beautiful room, the choice is yours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollygomanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thank you for your appreciation and comments. Once again it is good to see that the quality of a hotel combined with the warmth of a home can indeed be combined, more to the point our visitors appreciate this and do indeed become our friends.
No excuse required, you are more than welcome to return at anytime! i would love you to see the gardens in summer, nothing gives us more pleasure than people enjoying the gardens.

Best wishes

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Spacious rooms decorated to a high standard, a lounge for guests' use (with a lovely fire in the winter), warm and friendly hosts and a wonderful choice of food for breakfast. What more could you want - oh, I forgot to mention the large garden to roam in and the great view across the fields.

Room Tip: THere are no twin-bedded rooms, but there is 1 single room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Hi John, Thank you for your review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay and even at this time of year found the gardens worthwhile. Whilst we do not have a twin bedded room if the single is taken we can always do a single occupancy in a double. Do try and come in the summer and compare the seasons in the garden.

Best wishes

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed for one night in the "red room". Mike met us at our car and took our bags inside. We were shown to our room and adjoining lounge with log fire where we had tea and delicious homemade scones with clotted cream.

Champagne and strawberries had been requested in our room when we arrived, these were chilled and beautifully presented on ice.

Mike happily made recommendations for dinner and even went as call the restaurant to reserve a table and arrange transport there and back.

The breakfast the next morning was glorious! Christine asked upon our arrival what time we wanted it and a selection of muesli, fruits, yogurt and fresh juices were laid out whilst Christine offered a variety of speciality coffees and cooked breakfast choices from Full English (using local produce) to American pancakes with fruit. This was enjoyed overlooking the vast gardens and fields.

Overall a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. Mike and Christine have a talent of making you want to return as soon as you leave, if only to see how their beautiful house and gardens change as each season passes.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed_Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
We like to ensure that each and everyone who comes here enjoys there stay, reading your lovely review makes me think I might like to book in myself!
Seriously we were pleased to arrange the champagne on your behalf and home made scones have become so popular that Christine is always cooking new batches.
We are delighted that you chose to come here and look forward to you returning.

Best wishes

Mchael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
9.9 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
9.5 km away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
10.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
3.8 km away
Oak Farm Barn
Oak Farm Barn
#4 of 56 in Bury St Edmunds
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
13.9 km away
Bays Farm Country B&B and Kitchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens

Property: Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens
Address: The Ambers | Drinkstone Park, Bury St Edmunds IP30 9ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price range (per night): $121 - $160
Hotel Class:4 star — Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Bed and Breakfast on the edge of the village of Drinkstone close to Bury St Edmunds. Quiet, comfortable and welcoming with an excellent breakfast & more.We are situated in three acres of beautiful gardens that once formed part of the Drinkstone Park estate. Quiet and secluded yet only a short drive to the A14 and easy access to the major road networks. A ten minute drive to Bury St Edmunds. We look forward to welcoming you to our home. Michael & Christine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drinkstone Park Bed And Breakfast & Gardens Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing