We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (710)
Filter reviews
710 results
Traveller rating
381
176
73
49
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
381
176
73
49
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mews room st edmunds room classic menu shetland ponies four poster bed the main house secret escapes deal beautiful grounds cream tea afternoon tea lovely venue open fire wedding venue black pudding following morning relaxing stay lamb
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 710 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2018

What a disappointment.
Our party of 10 were celebrating a special birthday lunch on Saturday 22nd September 2018 booked for 1pm. The occasion was spoiled by the hour long wait before our orders were taken, the hour long wait before our food was served and the lack of courteous service by our waitress. No problem with our waiter who served us well.
Our coffees arrived at 4pm and were all returned as they were cold so another wait while they were replaced.
We will not be returning.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Pennie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

We had our Wedding at Ravenwood Hall Hotel this Sunday and it was the most perfect weekend possible. The staff were so kind, helpful and attentive, nothing was too much. Ros and her events team helped us create the perfect day and all the hotel staff made sure that all our guests who stayed (and us of course) were looked after.
The hotel is so charming, the rooms luxurious, the grounds lovely and the breakfast and food delicious.
Can not recommend this place enough.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JJordan-Hills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding along with a few other couples. The rooms were very nice we stayed in the mews rooms which had their own entry way and were just off the main hotel. They were decorated nicely and the bedding was very comfy. The grounds had Shetland ponies and goats. Unfortunately it wasn’t warm enough to use the pool so I can’t comment on that.

The breakfast could be improved, the service was very slow as there was only one person serving so we had to wait about 35 minutes for hot food. Along with that if you order scrambled eggs etc it doesn’t come with toast and if you do order it when your food arrives like we did you will have to wait another 10-15 minutes by that time you have finished it. Having a table where you can help yourself to juice, cereal and toast would really help this as you have to wait to find the waiter just to get more juice. They also do not accommodate vegetarians very well there was no veggie breakfast which would have been nice.
We did email in advance to see if we could check in a bit earlier due to the wedding and it is an extra £30. We thought this was a bit much and took our chances on the day and they did let us in early for no extra charge which was good so I’m glad we didn’t pay the extra.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank angelinaballerina99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

Just visited Ravenwood for Afternoon Tea , a gift from my husband's sister for our 10th Wedding Anniversary...... it saddens me to say but we were very disappointed!!! We were told to sit in the lounge were a very low table was already set up for us , we had hardly Sat down and the food was put in front of us , we were then asked if we wanted tea or coffee , normally afternoon tea there would be a choice of teas but I was it's just English breakfast !the sandwiches , scones and cakes were ok , only one plate provided for sandwiches and cakes , no cake forks for sticky delice , we were plagued by fly landing on food
, lastly to improve things in my opinion and I know it's only mine 1/ sit at proper tables 2/ provide proper choice of teas 3/ provide more than one plate 4/ provide cake forks and lastly give guests a few minutes to get comfortable before the food is brought out ! I would be happy to pay more to have a special experience as ive had in many other places

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank steven b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig1313, Operations Director at Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your afternoon tea. We do offer a selection of teas and I can only apologise that you were not offered these and I will address this issue with the team. We find guests like to sit in the comfort of the lounge for afternoon tea but we would have happily accommodated you in our bar or restaurant area if you had mentioned your wish for a higher/proper table.It is our usual standard to only provide one plate person to use for sandwiches then cakes; however, the team would have happily provided you with a fresh plate for your cakes on request. Thank you again for your feedback with this we would be unable to improve our service.

Regards

Moira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

This is 2nd stay here. Comfy hotel set in lovely grounds. Last time stayed in main hotel this time in a mews room. There is outside heated pool in summer. People come just for food. 1st night lovely meal. Breakfast you are served, was excellent bacon and eggs. You can have cereal too. 2nd night wanted something lighter namely egg and chips. They already had eggs on menu but waiter said was not possible. Even though we were told everything cooked from scratch - didn't think cooking egg would be that much of an issue. Managed to find something and had very nice panna cotta for pud. Would stay again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
Thank susierat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig1313, Operations Director at Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am pleased to here you enjoyed your second stay with us and I hope you will return again. Apologies that your request for egg and chips was not met, I will address this with the team here.
Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Moira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews