We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curate's egg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Good in parts then. Upstairs mews room cosy and with very comfy bed. Weirdly, ladybirds started appearing from I know not where soon after we got into the room! not just one or two. I collected 20 in a couple of minutes. Hotel has a lovely atmosphere with log fires on the go all the time. The party we were at went really well. Breakfast was lovely but took far too long to arrive

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yantofram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

586 - 590 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed at Ravenwood Hall as part of their New Year Package. Good atmosphere, real Christmas trees, log fires and candlelight. Staff were on on the ball and nothing was too much trouble. The afternoon teas on both days were excellent as was the food at dinner. Staff did not rush at all and gave diners as much time between courses as they liked. Bathrooms in excellent conditon, which makes a welcome change. All in all a good find and we would love to return.

Room Tip: Mews rooms a bit cheaper and only a few steps away. But the rooms with character are probably to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkTelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Chose Ravenwood for my husbands 60th birthday party - what a find.A beautiful venue with excellent staff and superb food - lovely rooms and a very friendly atmosphere - what more could you ask for.Thank you for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBHElyCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Stayed in upstairs mews room. Nicely decorated, but house keeping not up to stratch. Dirty toilet bowl, blown lamp in bathroom (very gloomy) no blub in bed side lamp and mould in corner of cupboard. And why o why shower curtains.? Fixed glass panel not only cheap but cleaner. Bring back the house keeper!
Lovely house lovely setting good food but where are all the staff? It's a ghost ship.
Breakfast at 9 in freezing cold dinning room, fires just being lit, waitress had to be reminded to bring milk for tea,salt and pepper etc - just general dizziness because she was trying to do too much. THis hotel is part of a bigger group of private hotels/resturants it feels as if the owner is skimming on staff and standards have fallen. Have been visiting for two years and things have declined. But still a nice place to visit.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Outofkernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

The two of us went for a meal on Saturday night, we had a table in the bar and it was lovely. From the outside Ravenwood Hall looked fantastic with the Xmas trees and lights, inside was just as good, really pretty and very cosy.
The service was very friendly and excellent. Our meal was not outstanding but enjoyable, our starters were great but I had Beer battered cod, I can't stand soggy batter and that is what I got, the fish underneath it was very fresh,so I just left most of the batter, hubbie declared his beef was wonderful,but the side portion of red cabbage was enormous and may have benefited from being smaller or come with another veg.
We shared an amazing cheese board which was 3 cheeses meant for one,but even the two of us struggled to eat it as it was very generous,with lovely chutney etc.
We then sat by the open fire and had coffee,which was very tepid but hey we were too full and Cosy to complain.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank YogaGirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
4.7 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,223 reviews
5.6 km away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
504 reviews
7.0 km away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
222 reviews
8.7 km away
The Ickworth Hotel
The Ickworth Hotel
#1 of 2 in Horringer
690 reviews
33.0 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel

Address: Mouse Lane | Rougham, Bury St Edmunds IP30 9JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range: $207 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most historic hotels in Bury St Edmunds, steeped in nearly 500 years of history. Set in seven acres of landscaped woodlands and gardens, this country house hotel is easily accessible from the main A14. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, you will find a winter fireside welcome and a summer poolside welcome. Whatever your needs, you will find a little luxury in the atmosphere of a country home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au and Booking.com so you can book your Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenwood Hall Country Suffolk
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing