We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Blue house haven”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gunfleet

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Scallop Sculpture, Aldeburgh Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Aldeburgh, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
43derlin5...
Harrow, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Blue house haven”
Reviewed 18 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Gunfleet is as near to the stony beach as you could get. Great for the grandchildren to collect stones, find treasures and bring them all back to the house! The noise of the sea is refreshing and calming. The house itself is quirky and great. We all loved it and hope to go back next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2018
Thank you kindly for reviewing your stay at Gunfleet in Aldeburgh. The house overlooking the sea is superb, delighted to hear the kids enjoyed this and managed to find hidden treasures!!!. The house has so many quirky things, especially the fab dining table and studio at the top.
Wonderful to hear you will be returning again we at Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages look forward to your return visit.
Kind regards
Kim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“An amazing location with wonderful sea views.”
Reviewed 4 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

The location and surrounding amenities are superb, with some some fantastic attractions just a short drive away. The house itself fitted our requirements perfectly and Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages could not have been more helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2017
Thank you kindly for reviewing your stay at Gunfleet in Aldeburgh. I am delighted to hear you found the house suited all your requirements. The house is perfect as it is located on the sea front and central to the town, thus being able to enjoy all the local amenities.Thank you for your kind words about us at Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages our aim is to ensure all our guests have a first class stay and that all their needs are taken care of. If you should think of returning to Suffolk in the future please do get in touch with us again.
Kind regards
Kim - Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela W
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great house Fantastic Location”
Reviewed 4 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Enjoyed a fabulous weekend at Gunfleet. It’s a very spacious, comfortable house with amazing views directly over the sea. We took the whole house but it can be easily split for two families with a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment on the LGF with own kitchen/diner and seating area. Wonderful artwork everywhere too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review Gunfleet in Aldeburgh. Wonderful to hear you you enjoyed a fabulous weekend. The house is perfect for large gatherings and the location is superb on the seafront. The owner of the house is an artist and I will pass on your kind words regarding the artwork. If you should think of returning to Suffolk in the future please do not hesitate to contact us again at Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages.
Kind regards
Kim - Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_nataliek...
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Party house with stunning beach view”
Reviewed 8 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We had 12 couples together in this house and there was more than enough room. Loved the big patio out the front which was wonderful to use on a sunny Sunday morning to watch the swimmers (in November!) The house is well equipped and warm. The only issue we had was plumbing - a leaky ensuite shower on top floor, a toilet that hardly flushed downstairs and a shower /bath that didn't work at all in the ensuite lower floor. These issues need to be rectified.
This didn't stop us having a wonderful time! The view is stunning and we had a lovely birthday celebration weekend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2017
Dear Natalie
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Gunfleet in Aldeburgh. I think you may mean 6 couples as there certainly would not be room for 12 couples. The house is perfect for large groups and ideally situated on the sea front. It's great to hear you were able to take advantage of sitting on the large patio to enjoy the autumn sunshine. I am really sorry to hear about your plumbing issues you experienced. Our maintenance team are available 24/7 and would of been able to rectify the issues if we were aware. Thank you for bringing these to our attention now and our team have been informed. Really pleased the issues did not deter you from enjoying the birthday celebration weekend. If you should be returning to Suffolk in the future please do not hesitate to contact us again at Aldeburgh Coastal Cottages.
Kind regards
Kim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim F
1 review
“Lovely big family home”
Reviewed 9 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Great place for a family gathering. Very well equipped. Quiet end of the Town but close enough to all the facilities.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing